Random babble

I keep seeing Chrysler commercials lauding the heroes of the revolution in The Hunger Games.  They make me profoundly uncomfortable, but I can’t articulate why exactly.  They made me actually cringe last weekend, when they were running during coverage of the Paris terrorist attacks.

~~~

Hockey announcers and the way they mangle the names of players that are not Anglo or French really bother me.  Semin is not pronounced like semen; I’m confused why the diacritical isn’t used or why it isn’t Syomin in the NHL the way it was on his jersey in Sochi.  Pietrangelo is not Peter-Angelo.  How hard is it to ask a player how to pronounce their name and then write it down phonetically so it can be pronounced properly?

~~~

On the reading front, not much going on.  I liked JCP’s short PsyCop, Memento.  It’s from Jacob’s POV, and gives an interesting glimpse into his view of Vic.  Since Vic narrates all the other PsyCop books, it’s a novel perspective.

I bought a couple of Patricia Veryan’s older books when they were release in ebooks.  Eh, I tried reading Sanguinet’s Crown but find the characters to be caricatures and the writing to be not very good.  Oh well.

~~~

Happy Turkey Day to any who celebrate it.  I shall be off to Chicago to cling to The Biochemist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related, language generally, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

