February’s reading

My reading is trending up!  No genre romance in there, but still.

  1. Brotherhood in Death by JD Robb.  I was tempted into buying this because Dennis Mira is mentioned in the blurb and I like that character.  He’s pretty tangential to the plot though, once the mystery is introduced.  Not great editing (Morse or Morris?, etc.).  Also, chain of evidence is a thing; prosecutors generally don’t handwave it away because it’s inconvenient.
  2. Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold.  I was pretty disappointed by this book.  At last, another book in which Cordelia is the protagonist. But instead of adventures or any actual plot, this is basically a domestic book in which she sits on the sideline while others grow/change/make major decisions.  All of her change or growth and decision-making was done before the book opens.  It’s really frustrating to me that Miles got to have personal growth + adventures while Cordelia gets neither of those on the pages of what is ostensibly a book about her.
  3. Day Shift by Charlaine Harris.  Library book.  Eh.
  4. Wood by Jordan Castillo Price.  Very short novella.  If this were fanfiction, I’d label it as PWP.  I’m not really sure what the point was, and if I had realized that there was no actual plot, I probably wouldn’t have bothered even at the $0.99 price point.
  5. Who Buries the Dead by C.S. Harris.  Another library book.  This series works better for me when I don’t read them back-to-back.  Liked the appearances of the Austen family and the mention of two Austen books.
  6. The Joy in Half A Cookie by Jean Kristeller.  Nonfiction.  Interesting and thoughtful, there are some things that I find useful in terms of how I think about and go about my own food choices.  But I’m never going to be a half a cookie person, unless I’m splitting it with someone.
Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

