The Wanted List

Right now I’m reading Sisters in Law, the dual biography of Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg.  I put Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in my bag for beach re-reading; I haven’t read it since it was first published, and hadn’t realized how much I’d forgotten and how much was omitted from the film.  The September installment of the In Death series was actually better than other recent installments, in my opinion, because it was all about procedure; the series is fading for me, but this was an okay installment.

I put the last couple issues of bitch in my beach bag, and have compiled of list of books and movies I want to see based on its reviews and articles.

The books on my wanted list now are:

  • If Nuns Ruled the World by Jo Piazza (non-fiction)
  • Passing by Nella Larsen (fiction set in the 20s, written in the 20s, about a black woman passing as white).
  • Prayers for the Stolen by Jennifer Clement (fiction)
  • More or Less Dead: Feminicide, Haunting, and the Ethics of Representation in Mexico by Alice Driver.  The reason I haven’t bought this book is that it is $45 for Kindle, which I’m reluctant to pay.
  • Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetani (YA)
  • The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic by Jessica Hopper (planning this as a gift)

Also on my wishlist is The Hanging Tree, the next Peter Grant book; I’d pre-ordered a copy from Amazon.co.uk, but got a notice that publication had been pushed back 😦  But perhaps that means it’ll be better edited than the last book?

The article on TBI, which points out the absence of domestic violence victims among studies of TBI, was good.  I get that it was highlighting an area that was ignored in a major study, but also felt that its concentration on the NFL concussion litigation and failure to mention other sports and studies that point higher rates of concussion diagnosis among women (athletes) left a hole.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

