Just finished

North to the Orient by Anne Morrow Lindbergh – engaging voice, easy reading of their adventure. Not a great deal of substance in some ways, but snapshots of different places. And interesting to read Morrow’s thoughts about sexism in journalism even then.

The Splendor Falls by Susanna Kearsley – I think maybe my expectations were influenced by all the praise from rom-readers’ raves. The mystery/suspense was good, if lacking any real sense of urgency. I liked the bits of Queen Isabelle and WWII Isabelle. The thin romantic thread failed for me entirely: I felt like I was told of love at first site but it was pretty irrelevant to the plot generally and felt extraneous and wedged in.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “Just finished

  1. Keishon

    High expectations…..I’ve never read Kearsley and from all the praise, I’ve decided to wait.

Leave a Reply

