Checking in

I ended up renewing the three nonfiction books I borrowed from the library, and am inching through Frazier’s Travels in Siberia, which is quite interesting and also apropos given the weather recently.  (I hate seeing a minus before any temperature reading.)  When I dropped off the books I’d finished, I picked up a couple more:

Tristana by Benito Perez Galdos (translated by Margaret Jull Costa)

There Once Lived a Mother Who Loved Her Children, Until They Moved Back In by Ludmilla  Petrushevskaya (translated by Anna Summers)

I’ve been debating buying Bob McKenzie’s Hockey Confidential…but I won’t let myself until I finish Dryden’s The Game, which still languishes on my Kindle.

~~~

In other media news, my current TV favorite is PBS’s The Great British Bake Off, which I only just discovered.  It comes across as competitive but much more collegial and pleasant than the competition shows found on the Food Network, and also as a fascinating cross-section of the British population in some ways.  I was pleased to see one of my French favorites, kouign amann, as a technical challenge, while also very surprised that none of the bakers had ever heard of or seen/eaten one before.

~~~

In advance of foul weather, I made a pot of faux cassoulet using the recipe demonstrated over at Full Fork Ahead.  And then I walked down to Poupon to get a small supply of emergency croissants.

3 Comments

Filed under Book related, food, miscellanea

3 responses to “Checking in

  1. rosario001

    I love the Bake-Off. It’s the only thing I watch on the telly, other than the news. Like you say, I like that it’s about people being good at something, not about creating drama and artificial conflict (although it seemed set to go in that direction at one point last season… have you got to ‘bingate’ yet? Fortunately, people reacted so negatively to it that editors left the programme alone after that!).

    • I just watched that episode! I felt terrible for Iain and was just horrified when he tossed the whole thing. (Although, to be honest, it looked a mess and fairly inedible at that point.)

      • rosario001

        I know! I’m not crazy about baked alaska anyway, but that one looked particularly horrible. And it turns out it had only been left outside for about 30 seconds, even though it was edited to look like Diana had purposely sabotaged it and ruined it. Poor woman was vilified! That kind of pissed me off. GBBO is not Big Brother, don’t manufacture drama!

Leave a Reply

