In which I am a book snob…

…but in the reverse of the usual way.

In my experience, most people who are book snobs tend to prefer literary fiction and deride genre fiction as less than.  (Until something like the dreck that is 50SoG becomes mainstream…don’t get me started.)  That’s not so much what happened with me, since I don’t feel any need to either deride genre fiction or differentiate lit fic from it.

Anyway, I was poking around on a book review site and saw that a new book is coming from an author I’ve read once or twice before.  So I hied me over to Amazon (Despoiler of Indies and Bricks and Mortar) to see if the blurb was of interest.  Eh, maybe, maybe not.  But the mention of a reader’s guide was a killer.  That screams pretension or an attempt at the “legitimacy” of lit fic.  “Check it out! There are themes in this book!  See, it merits thought- and conversation-provoking questions!  It’s not mere pink-published chick lit or women’s fiction!”  Blah blah blah.

Maybe I’ll borrow it from the library.  Or not.  I’ve got enough unread material on my Kindle and my shelves to last a good long time without adding stuff I’m not fully engaged by.

1 Comment

Filed under Book related

One response to “In which I am a book snob…

Leave a Reply

