This and that

My reading for the month was up, relative to the rest of my reading this year.  In addition to the books I read at the beach, I finished K.A. Mitchell’s short Just A Little Bad, which I liked as a supplement to other books in that series (it wouldn’t stand on its own).  I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Phryne Fisher mysteries, so I downloaded the first (Cocaine Blues) when it was on sale for $0.99; I found the narrator’s tone/voice to be not to my taste (it read as a combination of ennui and contempt for the world to me).  Also tried Rachel Bach’s Fortune’s Pawn, because it too has gotten raves.  Eh, maybe I’ll circle back to it someday but I haven’t felt engaged enough to get past the first chapter.

I did manage to re-read Whispers Underground, my favorite of the Rivers of London series so far, and will be re-reading Broken Homes next in anticipation of Foxglove Summer, which is due out in November.  But first I’m trying Sayers’ Strong Poison.

~~~

I think the romance blogosphere knows about the defamation complaint filed by Elloras Cave against Dear Author.  I went to the clerk of court’s website and downloaded a copy of the complaint (which is free, if you’re interested).  I am…not particularly impressed by the memorandum of law in support of the TRO request, but I don’t know enough about defamation/slander/libel/etc. to have an informed opinion about its substance.  I do agree with the general consensus that the suit looks like an attempt to gag criticism generally by targeting a higher profile community member.

~~~

An IKEA Kallax shelving unit awaits assembly in my spare room.  And yet I’m pretty sure I’ll still have books in boxes.  This despite the continuing Book Purge.

3 Comments

Filed under Book related

3 responses to “This and that

  1. Dang, I still haven’t read any of the rivers of london books. I went to the library but they don’t have the first two and I wanted to start at the beginning. Meant to get some ebook samplers but completely forgot. Must remember!

  2. Keishon

    I’ve heard nothing but good things about the Phryne Fisher mysteries too but so far I haven’t been successful in finishing one. Looking forward to your thoughts on Strong Poison. I’m reading the next book in the mini four book series featuring Harriet Vane, Have His Carcase.

Leave a Reply

