October’s book(s)

My reading for the month of October was the worst (in the sense of numbers) since I started keeping track eight years ago.  (Er, also since I started blogging eight years ago.  That anniversary has come and gone. Yay, me?)

The only thing I read was the In Death novella in the Mirror, Mirror Halloween anthology.  It was good, objectively speaking, but I’m ambivalent about the good twin/bad twin trope.

I tried to read Rush Me by Allison Parr, a New Adult book that came recommended but it failed the 3 chapter test.

Other books whose samples I tried but discarded:

  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • Just Jorie by Robin Alexander
  • Agamemnon Frost and the House of Death by Kim Knox
  • Longbourn by Jo Baker
  • The Neruda Case by Roberto Ampuero
  • Parasite by Mira Grant
  • King of Russia by Dave King
  • A Spider in the Cup by Barbara Cleverly

I may eventually circle back to the bottom four on the list.

The only up side to this massive reading slump is that it is doing wonders for my budget:  when I was reconciling bank and credit card statements for the month, my Amazon charges (primary source for print and ebooks) were down significantly.  The only charges other than Mirror, Mirror and Rush Me were for some travel guides that were on sale for Kindle.

What have I been doing with my time instead?  Reading fan fiction, including hockey RPF and original fiction, and Peter Grant/Rivers of London stories.  I have Opinions about both fandoms but since I’m not writing and am new to both, I’ll just sit on my hands and bite my tongue.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to figure out what to do with this blog.  I don’t want to stop posting but since it is mostly about my reactions to what I’m reading, I am not sure how to use it when I’m reading so little.

6 Comments

Filed under Book related

6 responses to “October’s book(s)

  1. Well, that’s depressing. I hope you’re enjoying some of that fan fiction, at least.

    I am on the third novella in the Agamemnon Frost trilogy, so obviously I enjoyed enough of it to keep reading, but I have pretty mixed feelings and can see why someone would discard it after the sample (if you did, I’d say whatever made you do so didn’t change, because it’s of a piece with the rest).

    The blog post I’ve enjoyed writing the most recently has been about non-fiction I loved, a lot of my reading is feeling pretty stale to me, too. I hope you find some good books soon! I’d miss your blog.

    • Hi, Liz. Sorry for the delayed response. I enjoyed your post on your non-fiction reading, actually, and thought about doing something similar. But my non-fiction reading lately has been work-oriented, and I doubt most people who stop by are all that interested in how to depose expert witnesses or the like. 🙂

  2. I’m also in a bit of a reading slump. It sounds like I finished more stuff over the last month but if you asked me to talk about any of it I don’t think I’d have anything to say. It’s all been just good enough for me to keep reading (or for a book club) but not good enough for me to have any desire to think about it past the last page. I did just start something called Chinese Opera which is by a NZ author and set way in the future. It’s bizarre right off so I’m intrigued… maybe it’ll get me out of the slump.

    I can also sympathize with your blog thoughts. I’ve had times where I post so little that I have these thoughts that I need to “think about what exactly my blog is for” etc but then I remember that it’s basically my thought journal and kept up solely for myself (though I feel lucky to share parts of it with my online buddies) so if I go months without posting before getting back to it it makes no nevermind because it’s mine and I can do what I want. Luck to you and what you decide on yours.

    • Book club…I’ve generally avoided them since being forced to read Dan Brown back when his DaVinci series was huge, but maybe it’s time to try again. If I had to read and be ready to talk, then I wouldn’t discard the book at hand, even if I wasn’t enjoying it.

  3. Please don’t leave! I enjoy your posts. So what if there’s a lag time? Read and post your reactions whenever. We will be here.

    So The Rosie Project didn’t work eh? What put you off? I knew from the get go that I don’t care for those types of books.

    • Thank you, Keishon, for the encouragement!

      I didn’t love the narrator’s voice in the sample I tried of The Rosie Project. Although, to be honest, I probably would not have even tried a sample but for the generally good reviews and high volume of web chatter I saw in advance: the premise kind of made me uncomfortable, reminded me of a movie I watched with a similar theme that just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

