July’s reading

Most of my reading in July was the St. Cyr glom, with just a little bit of other stuff added in.

1.  Where Serpents Sleep:  St. Cyr book #4 by C.S. Harris.  The gateway drug for me, pulled from the shelf as part of The Great Book Purge of 2013.

2.  Rising Tides by Nora Roberts.  Re-read because the e-version was on sale.  It stands up well, in terms of age.  It doesn’t feel too dated even though it is ~15 years old.

3 – 9.  What Angels Fear, When Gods Die, Where Shadows Dance, What Remains of Heaven, When Maidens Mourn, Why Mermaids Sing, What Darkness Brings.  The rest of the St. Cyr books.  I liked them generally, but would not recommend reading them as a glom because some of the narrative choices become repetitive.

10.  Ten in the Bin by N.R. Walker.  M/m short.  Set in Australia, sports romance.  I think I liked this short story but have mostly forgotten it.  *sigh*  Looking for the next Tigers & Devils.

11.  The Return by Brad Boney.  M/m sort of?  I feel very ambivalent about this book, which kind of fails as a romance for me because the whole relationship/connection is based on reincarnation.  Which might work except the original relationship was never really built on the page, so…

12.  The Winning Season by Allison Packard.  Sports romance.  Jane at Dear Author recommended this book; I was burned by the last sports romance I tried (which infodumped all kinds of baseball knowledge without it being used coherently), but this one got the sports right.  I wish the author had addressed the conflict of interest in the marketing/PR person dating a player but aside from that, it was good.  I really liked the heroine, while the hero was merely tolerable.

13.  Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews.  Urban fantasy.  Still thinking about this book.  Bored by the Curran/Kate relationship drama, more interested in the politics and Hugh.

Books TBR:

Wolf Hall & Bring Up the Bodies by Hillary Mantel.  I bought a paper copy of the first book a couple of weeks ago, then the second book was on sale for $2.99 at Kindle.

Bronze Gods by A.A. Aguirre.  Steampunk.  Since I liked Ann Aguirre’s Sirantha Jax and Corinne Solomon series (although I ended up quitting after three or four books; my attention wandered), I thought I’d try this collaboration written with her husband.

Provoked by Joanna Chambers.  Historical m/m, series.  I’ve had this on my Kindle for a couple of weeks, since I’d pre-ordered it, but haven’t managed to get past the first chapter yet.

And I’m still inching my way through Jeremy Scahill’s Dirty Wars, which is fascinating and demoralizing.  I’d highly recommend the documentary by the same name with the caveat that it is graphic, showing a lot of footage of civilian casualties in Yemen and Afghanistan.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “July’s reading

  1. I adore the Hilary Mantel books. They take some work (including sorting out all the different characters called Thomas -not that Mantel could have done anything about that, really!), but it’s extremely rewarding.

    I picked up the first St. Cyr ebook for free a few years ago, and it’s now gone to the top of the e-TBR.

    • Your review of Wolf Hall was what sold me on the Mantel books.

      I think the St. Cyr books are good as mysteries but his personal life is a little soap opera-ish.

Leave a Reply

