More victims of The Great Book Purge

The Boys Next Door by Jennifer Echols.  YA, published by Simon Pulse.

Cute, available, and one cabin over…

Lori lives for summertime at her family’s lake house. She spends all season wakeboarding, swimming, and hanging with her friends–including the two hotties in the cabin next door. With the Vader brothers, Lori’s always been one of the guys.

But while Lori and the “baby” brother, Adam, are inseparable friends, she can’t deny a secret crush on Sean, the older Vader boy. This year Sean’s been paying Lori a lot of attention, and not in a brotherly way.

But just as Lori decides to prove to Sean she’s girlfriend material, she realizes that her role as girl friend to Adam may be even more important. And by trying so hard for the perfect summer romance, she could be going way overboard…

I really enjoyed this book when it was first published (2007) for what it was — light-hearted YA as evidenced by the comic-style art on the cover.   This morning I skimmed the first several chapters, and while they were fine, they didn’t appeal enough to make me want to re-read or think it merited some of the scarce shelf space I have left.

Dancing Moon by Barbara Samuel.  American Western, pre-Civil War.  A lot of readers adore Samuel’s older historical novels and more recent women’s fiction, and well as her categories and contemporaries under the pseudonym Ruth Wind.  Her WF is very hit or miss for me (mostly miss) and this is the second or third historical I’ve tried; I tried In the Midnight Rain, which I liked but did not adore the way most readers did.  I think I need to just accept that she’s not a writer to my taste, no matter how other readers adore her In the Midnight Rain or Bed of Spices.  Also, using the phrase “kindly slave” in the first paragraph really put my back up as a reader, which I’m sure contributed to the abandonment after four chapters.

Jigsaw by Kathleen Nance.  This could be an awesome book, but I’m feeling pretty jaded about the NSA right now, so an NSA agent hero alienates me from the outside.

Forbidden and Embraced by Love by Suzanne Brockmann.  Older categories that have been reissued.  I read these at some point back when Brockmann was an auto-buy; I wish she’d write more straight contemporaries and move away from the Troubleshooter/FBI/law enforcement-ish stuff (for a variety of reasons).

The Comeback of Con MacNeill by Virginia Kantra.  Another category that people seem to love.  Meh.

10 Comments

Filed under Book related

10 responses to “More victims of The Great Book Purge

  1. I think I need to just accept that she’s not a writer to my taste, no matter how other readers adore her In the Midnight Rain or Bed of Spices.

    Sorry to hear that you’re giving her the axe. I’ve never been a fan of her historical romances. I did enjoy her one contemporary, In the Midnight Rain. Since you’ll never read it, I will say that it was excellent at the time that I read it and I bought a copy of it for my Kindle. I’ve never really enjoyed anything else by her quite frankly. Have you ever read Michelle Jerott? I enjoy her contemps as well but they can be hit or miss too or problematic with ethics and the like. I tend to overlook such things 🙂

    • Actually, I have read In the Midnight Rain. It was raved about over on the AAR boards, so I hunted up a used copy. And I liked it well enough but not nearly as much as everyone else did and I didn’t adore the hero, who seemed like the draw for everyone.

      Michelle Jerott…the name is familiar but I’m not sure if I’ve read her. Have you recommended her before? Or maybe Maili?

      • Oh sorry! I misunderstood. Moving on then. I think Maili has read Michelle Jerott. I enjoyed her two contemporary romances – A Great Catch where the hero suffered from Post-Traumatic Stress and then there’s All Night Long where the heroine researches her past if memory serves. Jerott has sold these as ebooks for cheap on her website. She also writes as Michelle Albert for romantic suspense novels which are indeed more misses than hits for me.

      • rosario001

        I loved those 2 Michelle Jerott books, especially All Night Long (I actually gave it an A+ when I read it 10 years ago -I really need to reread it to see if it’s aged well). It’s completely character-based, but the heroine is investigating some sort of historical mystery which I found fascinating. What I remember most about A Great Catch is the setting -a cruise ship in the Great Lakes. Hmm, I think they’re due a reread…

      • All Night Long sounds familiar to me. If Jerott has reissued it as an ebook, I’ll check it out.

  2. No, I realize now that it sounds like I had not read ITMR; I’ll fix that.

    Okay, I was wondering why I was confusing Jerrot with Albert 🙂

    Next up from the purge pile: Mary Stewart and Barbara Michaels.

  3. rosario001

    I loved Jigsaw (again, many years ago), but I completely understand why current events might intrude. I’m barely able to read Brockmann because of that, and yeah, a plain contemp from her would be lovely.

    • I think I acquired a copy based on your review at the time. But then it was consigned to the TBR pile.

      This book sorting exercise has been very enlightening to me about how I’ve changed in the last ~15 years as a reader. Things that I just didn’t think about then, in terms of my worldview, are roadblocks to some plots that at the time were perfectly acceptable. For example: NR’s books with thief MCs – fine at the time but not now. I think even Roarke might not be admirable to me now based on some of the early books.

  4. I also have no chemistry with Barbara Samuel and so have moved on.

    I can completely relate to changing as a reader. Having realized this about myself there are a few titles I will not go back to as I don’t want to risk my pleasant memories getting the ax from my contemporary eyes.

    • Yes, the pleasant memories of some books are, at this point, the best things about the books to my older eyes. There are some sentimental favorites on my shelves that I can’t bear to re-read but also don’t want to give away. Oh, nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

