Hereinafter referred to as TGBP2013

Whereas I have been sorting through my embarrassingly large collection of books; and 

Whereas some of those books are being kept while considerably more books are discarded; and

Whereas I felt the need to both share the sorting/discarding, and to name this event The Great Book Purge of 2013; and

Whereas typing “The Great Book Purge of 2013” seems to be a problem when I’m posting in a rush or on a mobile device:

Now therefore know all men by these presents that the same activity may be abbreviated as TGBP2013 hereafter.  At my discretion.  (Translation: when I’m feeling lazy.)

 

Today’s discards are books dating to the chick lit fad of the mid 2000s.  I’ve never read Candace Bushnell, and I DNF’d the first Bridget Jones book; other big names of that period like Emily Giffin and Sophie Kinsella left me cold.  But there were a few books that I liked enough to keep.  But upon re-read, eh, not so much.

Pushing 30 by Whitney Gaskell.  I remember liking this because it managed to check the chicklit boxes while being slightly different:  set in DC rather than NYC; not-broke heroine; professionally competent heroine in a non-fashion/advertising industry; older hero.  I still like some of those elements, but felt a lot less patient with the heroine’s refusal to stand up for herself or respond in any way to criticism or adversity.

True Love (and Other Lies) by Whitney Gaskell.  I can’t remember why I liked this book; the central conflict really bothers me now.  I tried a couple other books by Gaskell after liking Pushing 30 but LibraryThing reminds me that I didn’t not particularly care for them.  Must not have since she’d fallen off my radar until TGBP2013.

If Andy Warhol Had A Girlfriend by Alison Pace.  I can’t remember what I liked about this book other than the cover art.  It seems like an okay read but I can’t really remember the plot and don’t care enough after skimming random sections to go back and do a full re-read.

Up next:  a bunch of YAs (Judy Blume, Cynthia Voight).  Possibly with a break to read non-TGBP material — American Savage by Dan Savage.

~~~

This isn’t book-related but it is related to editing and proof-reading.  I read menu boards as I walk through the neighborhood(s) nearby.  Just to see what today’s specials are.  After all, maybe I won’t want to cook after seeing what’s cooking.  And sometimes what’s written on the sidewalk menu board sends me fleeing rather than stopping for lunch or dinner.  Recent menu items that made me cringe:  “tomato bisk” as soup of the day and a “prefix dinner” menu.  Presumably the soup was a bisque and it was a prix fixe menu rather than language building block dinner menu?  Stuff like that makes my fingers itch to update the menu boards.

6 Comments

Filed under Book related

6 responses to “Hereinafter referred to as TGBP2013

  1. I haven’t read a lot in the so-called chick lit category (though I love bridget jones’ voice) but in my limited experience I haven’t found that they stack up well to re-reads.

    I read three of your recommendations over the weekend. Didn’t get around to posting so I’ll wait til next week but hopefully it sparks a discussion. I also read The Winter Prince. Have you read any Elizabeth Wein? It’s been a while for me and the above was a title I never got around to.

  2. I think you might like her. Her latest books are about WWII and I haven’t read them (heard good things). Her other 4 are the Arthur/Aksum series. Arthur as in Of the Round Table and Aksum as in Ethiopia. I have now read 1-3. A Coalition of Lions is the one that is always recommended but I actually liked The Winter Prince better than 2 and 3. However, I like the Aksum setting better. So my personal recommendation would be to start with The Winter Prince (it’s the first anyway) but ymmv.

    • Thanks for the recommendation. When I looked online, there seemed to be an older series with more traditional historical covers, and a new series with covers that looked contemporary and a little Hunger Games-ish to me. Glad to know where to start.

  3. I look forward to hearing what you think. I re-read my comment above and I think it might have come off sounding like “I like the Winter Prince better because I like the Aksum setting better” but the first book is the British setting and what I was trying to say was “I liked the Winter Prince better despite not liking the setting as much.” I plan to re-read a coalition of lions after reading paladin of souls so maybe we’ll end up having a cross discussion.

    I adore the cover art for the arthur/aksum series. The WWII series is the bleh style that is being used these days for YA… not to my taste.

    • A copy of The Winter Prince is on its way to me. Although it is available for Kindle, the Kindle price was twice the used price and I couldn’t justify it. But I should have it by later this week so maybe it’ll be read by the following Monday? Or over the long holiday weekend.

Leave a Reply

