Hurriedly presses the back button

Somehow I missed the announcement that Tigers & Devils, one of my favorite books, was being released in audio. I hurried over to Audible to download a copy. Good thing I stopped long enough to listen to the sample. No, no, a thousand times no. Why on earth did the publisher select an American narrator for a book set it Australia and people entirely by Melbourne natives? I clicked away even more quickly that I’d gone to Audible in the first place.

Shame. I’d love to hear an audiobook of T&D with properly accented narration.

5 Comments

Filed under Book related

5 responses to “Hurriedly presses the back button

  1. My understanding is that the author had absolutely no input into this audio version. We’ve talked for a while on twitter (author, other readers, me) on how much fun it would be to have an audiobook, and we all assumed it would be read in the proper accents. So when this came out it was a horrible disappointment.

    Like you, I’d LOVE to have an audiobook version of T&D. Ah well.

    • Hi, Sunita!

      I was wondering what you thought of this audio version. It’s really a shame that no one behind the publication got input from Kennedy. Or, you know, paid any attention to the content.

      How are things? I’ve been mostly absent from Twitter lately, so I haven’t chatted with anyone in awhile. I miss it (the chatting) but am feeling happily less tethered to social media.

  2. My m/m book set in London was narrated by a Canadian actor with admittedly a great voice, but trying – and failing – to do the British accents. I’d been thrilled to hear it was going to audio, but ended up sorely disappointed :(. I love audio books, and I can’t believe publishers can’t find a wider pool of narrators.

    • Is it laziness on the part of publishers, do you think, that they don’t seem to look beyond what appears to be an known pool of narrators? Or is narrator selection outsourced, with a hiring decision made by someone who has no knowledge of the content and whether the narrator is at all suitable to that specific book?

      • It may be all of those. It’s certainly (indirectly?) insulting to me, that they don’t try to get it right. Or do they really think that a faux-accent is adequate? Maybe the majority reader pool *doesn’t* notice, and it’s just me being pedantic (don’t really believe that LOL). The publisher/author relationship seems to stop at the published word, excluding alternative versions. I wonder also if a publisher has a contract with a certain actor, and guarantees xx books’ work, for a better overall cost. I know it’s an expensive project. There’s also a common response that only some actors can cope with explicit sexual content, especially m/m. But I know so many “resting” actors that are desperate for work, I can’t believe there aren’t better, win/win arrangements out there. I’m not sure what extra training it requires to be a voice artist. Josh Lanyon has done a series of posts recently on interviewing voice actors, I’ll go and look it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

