Latest victims of The Great Book Purge

T is for Trespass by Sue Grafton.  This book had a $1 sticker on it, and I’m pretty sure I picked it up from a B&N remainder bin.  I used to read Grafton regularly and she was an autobuy through K but then she sort of fell off my radar for a variety of reasons related to the publishing industry rather than the books themselves.  This installment included the POV (3d person) of the Bad Guy, which was notable for the series.  The pace felt extremely slow to the point that I set the book aside a couple of times and probably wouldn’t have bothered to finish it in other circumstances.

Sacred by Dennis Lehane.  Why haven’t I read more by him?  Really liked this early installment of the Kenzie-Gennaro series.  And it’s a UBS find based on the handwritten price on the inside flap.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Latest victims of The Great Book Purge

  1. I love Dennis Lehane. His other title, Darkness, Take My Hand is brilliant. I loved Mystic River and Shutter Island with the twist at the end (or cheat, depending on your POV). I love his work. Sacred was probably the weakest in the series to me. You should read more of him. Guess what? I’ve never read Grafton.

    • Lehane is on my list to read once I’ve got my TBR under control 🙂

      I started Grafton a long time ago, back when she was only up to K in the alphabet. I like her narrator and the very specific sense of time and place in her series.

  2. I listen to Grafton on audio (I like that she’s stayed true to her characters), and T got excellent reviews when it came out – but…..”meh.” Kinsey spent too much time on “side jobs” and Grafton took forever to get to the meat and potatoes of the story. I found myself bored listening to it on audio – I would have skimmed like a mad-woman if I had tried to read it.

    Now that being said, I really, really enjoyed “U.” Grafton threw some 1960s-stuff in that one, which worked well for me.

    • I don’t think I have U TBR yet. But I’m sure I’ll get to it eventually. Do you like Grafton on audio generally, notwithstanding T?

      • I do like Grafton on audio, in large part because she’s got a great narrator – Judy Kaye. At this point I’m so invested in the audio format for this series, I’m not sure I could go back and “read” them…..

      • Hmm. I have some credits to use at Audible. Maybe I’ll check for U on audio. Thanks!

  3. Oh and Gone Baby Gone by Dennis Lehane is a Kindle deal today 🙂 just in case you’re interested. That’s another good one in the series.

Leave a Reply

