April’s reading

These are the books I read all the way through.  The categories, In Death, and other books that I put to the 50 page test weren’t recorded.

It’s actually not a bad tally, given my preoccupation with packing and moving.

1.  Nightfall by Ellen Connor.  Post-apocalyptic romance.

2.  Third You Die by Kevin Conner.  Mystery, gay fiction.

3.  Does My Head Look Big in This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah.  YA, set in Australia, narrator is of Palestinian descent.  Enjoyed it.

4.  Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Robyn Donald.  Category.

5.  Fettered by Lyn Gala.  M/m, BDSM.  Ambivalent about the plot and the instalove, as well as the punctuation abuse.

6.  Beautiful Sacrifice by Elizabeth Lowell.  Romantic suspense.

7.  Far in the Wilds by Deanna Raybourn.  Novella teaser for her new post-War Africa-set book.  Okay but not enough to get me to read her again — the Lady Julia series went so far off the rails for me that I’m not sure I’ll ever  be willing to try her again.

8 – 10.  Darkly Dreaming Dexter, Dearly Devoted Dexter, and Dexter in the Dark by Jeff Lindsay.  Started well but tailed off for me.

11.  The Millionaire’s Virgin Mistress by Robyn Donald.  Category.  Meh.

12.  Steel’s Edge by Ilona Andrews.  Fantasy romance.  Liked it better than the previous Edge book.

13.  Innocent Mistress, Royal Wife by Robyn Donald.  Category.  This plot made absolutely no sense, even for a Presents.

14.  The Princess of Burundi by Kjell Ericksson.  Mystery.  DNF.  Too slow, set it aside.

15.  Unwanted by Kristina Ohlsson.  Enjoyed this debut mystery from a Swedish writer (new to me).

16.  Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill.  Urban fantasy.  Meh.

17.  The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell.  Inspirational chick lit.  Re-read.

18.  Bad Attitude by K.A. Mitchell.  Contemporary m/m.  Liked it.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “April’s reading

  1. rosario001

    Could you say a bit more about Nighfall? I picked it up a while ago together with another post-apocalyptic romance (the first in the Joss Ware series), but the latter was a bust, so Nightfall has kind of slipped to the bottom of my TBR. Is it any good?

    • I haven’t read Joss Ware, so I can’t compare it. The mechanics of the writing were okay, nothing stood out in terms of editing or clunky language. I liked the premise of the series but it felt a little undeveloped — that may have changed as the series (trilogy?) progressed. The characters too felt underdeveloped. There was a jarring POV shift near the end when a third character’s POV was added. It sort of made sense as a storytelling tool in terms of what was going on with the plot but was noticeable in its difference to the 80% of the book that had come before it. I’d probably give it a C+/B-. I’ve liked other books by the authors better.

Leave a Reply

