March’s reading

1.  Calculated in Death by JD Robb.  The first In Death ever that I did not pre-order or even buy.  Average, I guess?  The whodunnit was extremely predictable, and also there were some copyediting errors.

2.  Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs.  Please give Mercy more powers! She can fix/save/whatever everything! Also, some bad grammar. Poorly paced. Worked as part of series arc but as a stand alone story was disjointed and poorly planned.

3.  The Buchanan Letters by Neil Plakcy.  This is not a romance. And definitely not m/m. More lad lit-ish. Found the narrator to be naive; hard to believe he’s that good at analysis and research when he shows such poor judgment everywhere else.

4.  Family Man by Heidi Cullinan.  I remember appreciating that this book wasn’t rife with typos, but that’s about all that stood out about it.

5.  Mayan Moon by Eleni Carr.  This was a Silhouette Special Edition from the 80s, and the age showed — it was extremely dated re: sexual relationships, etc. Liked the setting. Liked that race/class/colonialism were not ignored.

6.  Craving Beauty by Nalini Singh.

7.  Love Lessons by Gina Wilkins.  So many stereotypes, so little time.

Both briefly mentioned here.

8.  Strange Fortune by Josh Lanyon.  Not a favorite Lanyon for me, more thoughts here.

9.  Murder in the Marais by Cara Black.  Liked this one, mentioned it here.

10.  The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elizabeth Hyde.   Mentioned here.

11.  Death of a Pirate King by Josh Lanyon.  Re-read.

The highlight of the month was an audiobook:  Paladin of Souls by Bujold.

5 Comments

Filed under Book related

5 responses to “March’s reading

  1. re Frost Burned – ouch! *lowering expectations*

    • A lot of readers really loved Frost Burned, so don’t lower your expectations just based on me.

      Misuse of I and me as part of plural subject and object is like nails on a chalkboard. I’m really intolerant about it, especially in a hardback that is supposed to have been edited by one of the best/best-known urban fantasy editors in the business.

      I think I’m finished with the series, in part because I feel like Briggs gives Mercy a new ability in each book in order to solve the big problem. Which feels a little like what Hamilton did with Anita Blake but on a smaller scale (and without the magic Vagina of Power and authorial insertion into the plot).

      • Well, the similarities to Hamilton are not good either. I may just stop automatically buying them since I have no idea when I’ll be reading them. Appreciate the feedback. Part of me with that these writers have a set plan for how many books will be in a series and know when to end it.

  2. I think my March reading was more satisfying than yours overall, but the highlight was the same! What a great book, and I liked the narration, too.

    • I’m really struggling with reading lately, and I’m not sure how to get over the slump. Books and authors who used to be the solution to a slump aren’t working. I don’t know if it’s time to stop reading genre fiction for a while or what.

      Paladin is such a lovely book. I appreciate it more on every re-read.

Leave a Reply

