On my wish list

Since I’ve declared a book buying moratorium for the time being — I’m in the process of winnowing my book collection as a move looms large in my near future — I’ve been adding books to my wish list.

  • The Lost Carving: A Journey to the Heart of Making by David Easterly.   A memoir by a modern woodcarver in the style of Grinling Gibbons.  
  • Jambusters by Julie Summers.  An account of Britain’s Women’s Institutes in World War II.
  • Collapse:  How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed by Jared Diamond.  His Guns, Germs, and Steel was good, so…
  • The Story of English in 100 Words by David Crystal

The new JR Ward book comes out next week.  I’m sort of tempted, just to see what she does with a gay relationship.  But the last couple I read were so badly written and downright offensive in some ways that I’m not willing to pay to read what I’m pretty sure will be a hot mess.  So I guess I’ll wait for the library to have a copy.  

Another series with the mess potential is Charlaine Harris’s wrap up of the Sookie Stackhouse series.  I’ve said before that she went on some odd tangents in order to make some pieces of plot work, which kind of skewed the story arc (IMO), and also has engaged in some character assassination that I find problematic.  Also, Sookie is a gigantic Mary Sue who is hypocritical and uneven in her judgment and treatment of supernaturals while clinging to her so-called christian status.  So I’m ambivalent about this book, due out in May, also.

Two authors whose historical series I’ve abandoned have new books in different setting coming out soon, and both intrigue me. [I’m hoping they’ll appeal and that my declining interest in their other work is a result of series-itis rather than their writing generally.]

  • The Ashford Affair by Lauren Willig
  • A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn

And now that I’ve pined over books I can’t have right now, I’ll go back to clearing out more shelves…

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

