SBD: this and that

This:

I bought two books at The Strand this weekend, both non-fiction.

London Under by Peter Ackroyd.  I’ve never managed to finish Ackroyd’s history of London, but am creeping through his modernization of The Canterbury Tales.  Frankly, I blame Ben Aaronovitch’s Whispers Under Ground for my inability to put this back on the sale table.

A Little History of the World by E.H. Gombrich.

None of the fiction intrigued me.  My ennui remains.

Also, why did I buy paper books?  I’m going to be packing to move soon, and need to cull more books from my collection.

That:

Saw the Ballet Flamenco de Andalucia’s Metafora on Saturday.  It was amazing (third party review here).  The music, the costumes, the choreography.  I especially appreciated the costumes of the women:  the shawls used almost matador-style; the hugely ruffled dresses and skirts of an early dance; the streamlined yet still fluttery crimson gowns of a later act; the peasant-style costumes of the second half.

Also saw “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”.  It was my second choice — “Kinky Boots” was sold out.  It’s the first time I’ve ever seen Scarlet Johanssen in anything and been able to see the character rather than the actress.  The NYT theater critic wasn’t impressed by the rest of the cast, but I thought the actor playing Brick and Ciaran Hinds (Big Daddy) were pretty good.  Hinds’ southern accent has certainly improved since his stint as the Bill Clinton-ish president in Political Animals.

On my theater wishlist this spring:  Kinky Boots; MacBeth; Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike; and Ann.  I’m tempted by the idea of “The Testament of Mary” because I admire Fiona Shaw but I’m not sure about the content.  Must check reviews.

The other:

The DABWAHA tournament is gearing up.  I’ve read nine of the nominees and killed several others after reading a sample; those that I have read were mostly NOT books I would rate highly.  The books I liked best were Tigerland, Irregulars, Whispers Under Ground, and Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance — gay fiction and fantasy, which makes them less than likely to advance far in the tournament.

*shrug*

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related, Read or seen

Leave a Reply

