February – a short month

February is a short month.  I’m going to blame the missing days for the very short reading list.

1.  Contract with Consequences by Miranda Lee.  Category.  This was a DNF, as mentioned earlier.

2.  A Share in Death by Deborah Crombie.  Mystery.  (B) This was Crombie’s debut, and I enjoyed it a great deal.  Part of my pleasure came from good editing and the sheer badness of my other recent reads; I’m not sure if it would have rated so well if I’d just finished a keeper.

3.  Laying Ghosts by James Buchanan.  Gay romance with procedural.  (B-)  Buchanan’s voice is so good and pleasing to my inner ear, but the editing for this book was awful to the point of distraction.

4.  How to Save A Life by Sloan Parker.  M/m.  DNF, although I can’t remember why now.  In fact, I can’t remember anything about this book.  Eh.

5.  The Last Day of Summer by JF Smith.  M/m contemporary.  Not recommended, as mentioned earlier.

6.  Wide Awake by Kade Boehe.  M/m contemporary.  (F)  This is a $0.99 self-published book, and it shows in every aspect.

7.  Claimings, Tails, and Other Alien Artifacts by Lyn Gala.  M/m speculative fiction.  Sort of m/m?  With D/s.  (B-)  I bought this for the speculative aspect because the reviews made it clear that biologically the species are not compatible.  What I got was…interesting.  The biological aspect, yes, along with vastly different cultures, psychologies, and social structures.   The biology prompts the question, what is sex, especially when one of the pairing feels pleasure but does not orgasm because sex is for reproduction not pleasure.  There’s a lot to unpack.  But on the other hand, the relationship set up is very much like the white woman-Native American kidnapping romance — not original at all — and the lack of conscious consent at the outset made me very uncomfortable.

8.  Dirty Laundry by Heidi Cullinan.  M/m contemporary.  (B) This was a well-written book, nicely edited (such a relief).  And yet I didn’t love it and am probably never going to re-read it or make an effort to check out the other books of the series.

1 Comment

Filed under Book related

One response to “February – a short month

  1. Not a bad reading month if four out of eight were decent reads. More than me.

Leave a Reply

