January’s reading

It’s a short-ish list for January reading:

1.  Komarr by Lois McMaster Bujold — audiobook and paper.  This book isn’t one of the Vorkosigan series that I re-read regularly.  It feels like filler with a lot of set up material for A Civil Campaign and Miles’ future rather than being focused on the plot at hand.  B

2.  It’s Not Shakespeare by Amy Lane.  M/m contemporary.  My response to this book was mixed:  I liked the style in some ways but was put off by reading the dialect used by the younger MC in print.  I’ve mentioned before that hearing dialect or coded speech doesn’t bother me, but seeing it in writing is like nails on a chalkboard.

3.  At His Majesty’s Request by Maisey Yates.  Category, brief write up here.

4.  I Spy Something Christmas by Josh Lanyon.  Holiday novella, m/m, part of a series.  It was okay, I guess?  I’ve forgotten the plot already.

5.  Silent Mercy by Lori G. Armstrong.  Holiday novella, part of a mystery/suspense series.  DNF.  I am finished with this series, mostly because I can’t buy into the new professional set up created by the author.  It’s all announced retrospectively, and it’s just…not consistent with the character as portrayed in the earlier books.

6.  Moonshifted by Cassie Alexander.  Urban fantasy, brief write up here.

 

More m/m DNFs as I clear out the books pending on my Kindle:

1.  Hairy Harry’s Car Seat by Sue Brown.  Very English in setting.  Gay for you.  Meh.

2.  Frat House Troopers by Xavier Mayne.  I’m supposed to believe that a professor of English wrote this mess? I thought it was going to be or supposed to be comic but it was just a mess. head hopping. Gay4U with no angst. Plot that makes little sense from a practical perspective.

3.  Color of Grace by A. M. Arthur.  Stopped about half-way through.  Bored, felt like the book was pointless and meandering.

4.  Sinner’s Gin by Rhys Ford.  Ditto.

5.  Second Chance Sam by Bren Christopher.  Ditto.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

