Best books read this year

It’s a little early, since I could (theoretically) read something that wows me between now and NYE…but given my schedule and to-do list, that seems unlikely at the moment.  One hundred ten books read this year, fewer than last year once again, continuing the downward trend.  Most of the ratings were clumped in the middle.  One thing that stands out is that none of the In Death or NR books I read this year made the list.  Another is that there are no genre romances from traditional or NY publishers on the list, which says something about my reading (but I’m not sure what).

Books I enjoyed the most:

  • Tigerland by Sean Kennedy (2012) — yes, review is still half-written
  • Midnight Riot, Moon Over Soho, and Whispers Under Ground by Ben Aaronovitch (2011, 2011, 2012 respectively)
  • A Gentleman’s Game by Greg Rucka (2005)
  • Crucible of Gold by Naomi Novik (2012)
  • Irregulars: Stores by Nicole Kimberling, Josh Lanyon, Ginn Hale and Astrid Amara (2012)
  • Fun Home by Alison Bechdel (2007)
  • But My Boyfriend Is by K.A. Mitchell (2012)

Honorable Mentions:

  • Broken Harbour by Tana French (2012)
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (2012)

(These last two were beautifully written and I appreciated them, but they aren’t books I’ll reread.)

Books that made me the cranky for a variety of reasons:

  • Steamroller by Mary Calmes (2012)
  • When in Doubt, Add Butter by Beth Harbison (2012)
  • Bared to You by Sylvia Day (2012)
  • Devils Punch by Ann Aguirre (2012)
Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

