October reading

Wow, this is pathetic.  What did I do instead?  (Oh, right, I read more fan fiction. And work material.)

1.  Mourning Heaven by Amy Lane.  M/m contemporary.  This book was an utter train wreck. F

2.  Easy by Tamara Webber.  New adult.  The Big Mis required a huge suspension of disbelief for me, and was pretty easily guessed at early on, which made me question the judgment/smarts of the heroine.  Who also felt a little Mary Sue-ish.  The MCs felt like 30 year olds inserted into the lives of 19/21 year olds.  Liked the book until the end, did not care for the final scene or epilogue.  C

3.  The Hot Floor by Josephine Myles.  M/m contemporary.  One of very few menages I’ve read that actually works.  B

4.  Tigerland by Sean Kennedy.  M/m contemporary, sequel to Tigers & Devils.  Absolute keeper.  If I can ever get past my urge to cut and paste pages and pages of quotes, I’ll write a review.  Mostly:  Simon’s voice!  A-

5.  A Rookie Move by Sam Morgan.  M/m contemporary.  Not well edited. Clunky writing. Big Mis, communication problems. MCs acted more like teenagers than adults. Thin characterization. Even though both POVs are used through out the book, at the important point one was dropped in order to create the Big Mis and conflict (failed).  C-/D+

6.  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.  Re-read.

Audiobooks:

  • The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Fair Game by Josh Lanyon
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (in progress)
5 Comments

Filed under Book related

5 responses to “October reading

  1. Oh, DO write a review of Tigerland! I can’t, since I’m still boycotting DSP, but I loved it. I was scared of a sequel, since T&D is one of my favorite books, but Kennedy pulled it off.

    How did you like Fair Game? I just listened to The Darkling Thrush and enjoyed it. And which Bujold should I start with in audio? I’ve read through A Civil Campaign (and all the Chalion books) but I’d like to hear them.

    • I mean to write a review, but every time I sit down with the ebook, I wind up highlighting passage after passage and noting that it’s all about Simon with his pretend-hard shell and soft heart.

      Fair Game was fine. Actually, it was probably very good but it suffered by following Juliet Stevenson’s Persuasion (excellent) and the two Bujold books (also excellent but in different ways).

      The same narrator does all the Vorkosigan books; I’ve only listened to A Civil Campaign and Winterfair Gifts (novella following ACC), but think you could probably start anywhere in the series. I’ve got the new Ivan book pre-ordered 🙂 As for the Chalion books, TCoC is a go-to read and now listen, although the narrator is not the same as the Miles books. A Paladin of Souls is narrated by a woman with a BrE accent, which does not match Ista’s voice in my mind (or the AmE accent of all the Chalionese royals in TCoC), so I’ve wibbled about listening. I’m ambivalent about The Hallowed Hunt because it’s my least favorite of the Chalion books. Am on the fence about listening to the Sharing Knife books: they have a single narrator (female), but the story arc and focus alternated from book to book between Fawn and Dag (I thought), so I’m not sure if/how that will match the sole narrator.

      Is there a (legitimate) way to share audiobooks? Because I’d be happy to do so if I could figure out how.

  2. Ha, Easy was a snooze fest for me. I skimmed to the end. Needless to say it didn’t keep my interest. I have reader’s block. Nothing is working for me right now so I stopped trying to read anything the past two weeks. Plan to try again this weekend. *sigh*

    • What are you going to try to read this weekend?

      I haven’t intentionally stopped reading these last couple of weeks, but I’ve been busy with other things and doing a lot of work-related reading. I’m hoping that when I get back to fiction, it will appeal to me again.

  3. I’m reading Liza Marklund’s Last Will which is OK. Major criticism I have is too much time spent in the protagonist’s personal life which for me is flat out boring and slowing down the story. Plan to finish it.

Leave a Reply

