Nonfiction I want

I’m sure there’s fiction coming soon that I want to read, but nothing springs to mind right now.  Instead I’m wishlisting a bunch of nonfiction.

Bad Pharma: How Drug Companies Mislead Doctors and Harm Patients by Ben Goldacre — available in the UK, not available in the US until January 2013.  But in the meantime, I’ve also got Goldacre’s Bad Science: Quacks, Hacks and Big Pharma Flacks.  Goldacre is a research fellow and psychiatric registrar in the UK.

Seward: Lincoln’s Indispensable Man by Walter Stahr.  Most people probably think of Alaska if they think of Seward at all, but he was pretty awesome as Lincoln’s Secretary of State.

The Signal and the Noise: Why So Many Predictions Fail – But Some Don’t by Nate Silver.  I’m interested mostly because I’ve been watching Silver’s numbers for the election and am curious to get a peek into his philosophy.

Every Love Story Is a Ghost Story: A Life of David Foster Wallace by D.L. Max.  What it says on the tin.  I don’t quite get the DFW adulation that so many feel.  Yes, he wrote beautifully, but no more so than many others.  Yet his suicide in 2008 seems to have lead to a literary canonization of sorts.  Maybe this will help me understand it.

(Okay, what is up with all the colons and subtitles? Can’t nonfiction writers and publishers come up with simpler titles?)

A People’s History of London by Lindsey German and John Rees.  Ackroyd’s London histories are just too dense and intimidating but this looks manageable, maybe as a jumping off point.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “Nonfiction I want

  1. rosario001

    Bad Science is just brilliant. A lot of the examples are very British, but there’s more than enough background there. Most are about issues I wasn’t really aware off (stuff that was in the news before I moved here) and I still got everything fine.

    • I haven’t started Bad Science yet. Bad Pharma caught my eye because of stories one of my friends (a doctor) tells about patients who self-diagnose based on pharmaceutical ads. Makes her crazy.

Leave a Reply

