September reads

1.  Silent One by Kari Jo Spear.  DNF.  This had potential as a hybrid science fiction m/m, but the narration was painful and the pacing was clunky.

2-4.  Midnight Riot, Whispers Under Ground, Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch.  Urban fantasy.  I love this series.  As I’ve mentioned before, it’s got such a specific sense of place.  One thing I haven’t mentioned about Constable Peter Grant (narrator), which I really appreciate, is that he’s conscious of race and class differences in the UK which is so often not mentioned in the UK-set contemporary fiction I’ve read.  I even like that Aaronovitch makes Grant’s style casual and sometimes a little wobbly on the grammar.  Those aren’t typos or missed copy edits — when he misuses “me and her” vs. “she and I”, he’s conscious that he’s breaking the rule and argues with his governor about archaic grammar rules.  Rule acknowledged and intentionally broken.  Love it.  Which is totally contrary of me, since normally misuse of the I/me in combination for a plural pronoun irritates me.

5.  The Likeness by Tana French.  Police procedural/mystery.  Beautifully written, not a keeper.

6.  Delusion in Death by JD Robb.  Not bad but also not the best installment.

7.  Blue Blood by Susan McBride.  DNF.  Mystery.

8.  The Preacher by Camilla Lackberg.  Mystery.

9.  Chaser by Rick Reed.  M/m.  This book seriously disappointed me and pissed me off.

10.  The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George.  YA mystery w/ paranormal thread and romance thread.

11.  Pressure Head by J.L. Merrow.  M/m mystery.  Eh.  So over amateur sleuths, especially those that are TSTL at the end.

12.  Campus Visit by Stella Huerto.  M/m.

13.  A Younger Man by Cameron Dane.  M/m.

Those last two were…not good.  Trope-filled and unoriginal.  The Dane book in particular was painful; it needed to be chopped in half at least.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “September reads

  1. How was the Elizabeth George? Any good?

    • I enjoyed it with a couple of reservations. First, some of the teen characters acted older than their age, which made me wonder about writing YA vs adult fiction. Second, it felt unnaturally truncated and a little padded, maybe to justify publishing the larger mystery over three books rather than one.

      Having said that, I do still want to read the rest of the trilogy to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

