August’s reading

Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews.  Urban fantasy, spin-off of the Kate Daniels series, set in the same world.  Liked the different perspective on the Kate Daniels world, although I don’t like Andrea as narrator as much as I like Kate.  I am not sure I buy her transformation, to be honest.  In a more general observation about both series, I have a lot of questions about the world building, in part because the use of technology seems to be increasing in comparison to the early Kate books.  Is that a function of character? Or slight bending of original set up to serve plot?  I’ve noted in earlier comments that there is some wonky grammar and writing, which kind of surprises me given the editor of this series.

Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon.  Historical mystery.  DNF.  I liked Lord John Grey as narrator, but the whole plot felt Byzantine.  Also, bored and put off by the mooning over Jamie Fraser, whose appeal utterly escapes me as a reader.

The Last Run by Greg Rucka.  Spy thriller.  Third Tara Chace novel, and what appears to be the last with her as an active operative.  Enjoyed it.

When in Doubt, Add Butter by Beth Harbison.  Disappointing, trite, and predictable. Guessed the love interest at the outset, because it was clear that this was really just chick lit with a heroine who is more WF-aged (37). The heroine felt more like a 21 year old than an 37 year old, with a lack of plan for her professional life and disastrous personal life.  Not impressed at all.

Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain.  Mystery/thriller/procedural.  As I mentioned earlier, not a bad book but the end of the series for me.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling.  YA fantasy, reread.

He Speaks Dead by Adrienne Wilder.  Urban fantasy, gay fiction.  (I hesitate to call it a romance.)  Mentioned earlier here.

But My Boyfriend Is by K.A. Mitchell.  M/m contemporary romance.  Liked it.

Broken Harbor by Tana French.  Mystery/procedural.  Beautifully written but I feel ambivalent about the plot.  Trying to articulate why, which may end up being posted.

3 Comments

Filed under books

3 responses to “August’s reading

  1. You know, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade was good and sans Jamie Fraser. I wish Gabaldon could keep the Outlander series separate from the Lord John books b/c like you said, not everybody gets the appeal of Jamie Fraser. But then John did love him at one point but now they essentially hate each other (forgot why). I still haven’t read The Scottish Prisoner yet but will.

    • It was good otherwise, I just found Lord John’s mooning over him distracting and not really helpful or relevant to the story. But I’m not really Gabaldon’s target audience, I think, since most of her readers are rabid Jamie fans.

  2. I really didn’t like Lord John and the Private Matter if only because the private matter seemed liked a thing that just wouldn’t have happened let alone hang a mystery plot on it. I have however loved all of the stories since, so I just try to pretend this one doesn’t really count!

Leave a Reply

