Te quiero, España

A while back I added Mike Randolph’s photos of Spain to my feed.  I especially loved the photo of the Tio Pepe sign.  I think I mentioned in my travel recap post that the sign was missing from the Puerta del Sol in Madrid on my trip this past February; the roof of the building looked oddly naked without it, despite being shrouded in scaffolding.  Apparently may not be reinstalled after the renovation of the building.

Anyway, going through my personal photos, I found this older photo of the Tio Pepe sign:

Tio Pepe sign in the Puerta del Sol
Taken February 2009

 
And here is the same building this past February, signless.  Apparently I didn’t take a photo of the naked building, although I definitely remarked upon it in my travel journal.
 
I’ve got a photo of the Mezquita in Cordoba in black and white that I took a while back (maybe in 2002 or so?), but it doesn’t look nearly as good as his — imagine that!  Hmm, I should find the digital back up of the photo (not on this hard drive but on disc, I think).
 
Sort of but not really related:  a couple of weeks ago The Economist reviewed La Roja: How Soccer Conquered Spain and How Spanish Soccer Conquered the World.  Which seems prescient in light of La Roja’s EuroCup2012 win over Italy yesterday.
Leave a comment

Filed under spain, travel

Leave a Reply

