May’s reading

May isn’t quite over yet, but it’s pretty clear that I’m not going to get any more reading done.  And since I’m procrastinating before buckling down to write the last scene of an exchange fic, I’m posting the month’s reading early.

1.  Frog by Mary Calmes.  Reviewed here.

2.  The Last Boyfriend by Nora Roberts.   It was…forgettable.  Beautiful as object. Boring as a book. No sexual tension at all for me. Repetitive. Bored. Set aside, unlikely to pick up again. Bought out of habit despite not caring for the first book of the series.

3.  Brothers in Arms by Kendall McKenna.  F.

4.  In Love and War by Carla Kelly.  This is a collection of novellas that I think were all previously published.  The only one that I hadn’t read was the last one, about a hotel manager who had also been an East India Company clerk while Wellesley was in India.  Very pleased — it was worth the price.

5.  Hard Tail by J.L. Merrow.  M/m contemporary.  Slow. Bored by mental wibbling about whether he was gay or not. Big issue of domestic abuse was pointed to with neon lights and then just casually dismissed. Not impressed.

6.  The Miseducation of Cameron Price by Emily M. Danforth.  LGBT YA.  DNF — it was well-written but so slowly paced that I ended up setting it aside.

7. eARC of a book that I wanted to love and hug and call George.  Well, not really.  But I’m restraining my glee and the review until the release date.

8.  Good Bones by Kim Fielding.  M/m paranormal.  C.  I have thoughts about this one, or did, but can’t find the notebook in which I wrote them.  I fail at organization right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

