The wish list

In addition to the books I’ve pre-ordered (the upcoming K.A. Mitchell, Ilona Andrews and Lois McMaster Bujold), I’ve got a fairly lengthy wish list of books.  These are books that I want but am not immediately inclined to buy or pre-order based on price or format or whatever-other-reason.  Periodically I clear the list out based on what I’ve borrowed from the library or found used or been given as a gift, etc.  Sometimes when I review it, I find books that I wanted desperately at some point but which…don’t seem as urgent any longer.   Today’s skim of the list didn’t do that, but it did reveal that a few of the books are available at reasonable used prices (under $5 plus shipping).  [Just what I needed to do, buy more books now that I’ve gotten rid of another 100 or so unread books that were gathering an embarrassing amount of dust.  It’s a sickness.]

Some of the books still on the wishlist:

  1. Little America:  The War Within the War for Afghanistan by Rajiv Chandrasekaran.  I appreciated his Imperial Life in the Emerald City: Inside Iraq’s Green Zone and various reports/articles published by the Post.  Out in June.
  2. Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain.  Mystery, book five of the Archie Sheridan series, due out in August.
  3. Presumed Incompetent: The Intersections of Race and Class for Women in Academia by Gabrielle Gutierrez y Muhs.  Due out next week.  The price ($49.95) is the hold up on this book — it’s a lot (for me) to spend on a book for entertainment rather than work/research purposes.
  4. Molotov’s Magic Lantern: Travels in Russian History by Rachel Polonsky.  Modern Russian history written by a British journalist living in Russia.
  5. The Hand That Trembles by Kjell Eriksson.  Swedish-set mystery.
  6. Our Bodies, Our Crimes: The Policing of Women’s Reproduction in America by Jeanne Flavin.

And many, many more…

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “The wish list

  1. Looking forward to the Chelsea Cain even though her last one was out there. She entertains though regardless of my perceived flaws. I have the Ericksson title and badly need to start that series. I’ve regressed and started reading Karin Slaughter again after I vowed not to. She is just so so good at characterization. Reading a novella by her, Snatched that is 73 pages on my digital reader. Will review it later tonight. My wish list has two titles on it: Tana French’s Broken Harbour and Dennis Lehane’s Live By Night.

    • I saw your review of Snatched, it sounds good so I’ll check it out. I haven’t read any Slaughter, I think, although she’s on my list of authors TBR — shuffled her lower on the list after the big blow up a few years ago.

      And I’ve got French and Lehane TBR after reading your reviews. 🙂

Leave a Reply

