Degrees of separation in Rom-land

While weeding the shelves, I came across a used hard back edition of Lavyrle Spencer’s The Fulfillment, which I first read a long time ago, relatively early in my romance-reading career.  I indulged in a quick skim, but the story didn’t really stand the test of time  (it has serious squick factor for me now that did not occur to me as a teenager).  /shrug/ Very few books do, which is why the purge is good.

This thank you note at the beginning of the book caught my eye though:

I’ve never read Woodiwiss and thought (perhaps mistakenly) that The Flame and the Flower was a quintessential bodice ripper…which is not something I would associate with Spencer’s body of work at all, even as a sort of vague professional inspiration.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

