In which I am cranky (again)

I seldom write letters to editors, although I have been known to edit them for my colleagues.  But this article in The Economist had me first tweeting at the magazine and then sending off an email.  While I think the article has a point about the publisher’s model of “creating” bestsellers and its business model, it misses the point (or at least skips a couple of literary generations) when it compares FSoG to Jane Eyre, and also discounts the importance of Twi-fandom in the series’ success.  Will my letter make the electronic version or the print version?  I doubt it, but it makes me feel better to have vented.

~~~

The Avengers:  two thumbs up because of the humor and despite what felt like some heavy-handed propaganda.  I don’t have anything original to say about the film, other than the fact that I realized why I don’t care for Scarlett Johansson in nearly any film role:  because as a viewer, I never forget that she’s Scarlett Johansson, her performance never overrides her celebrity.  I have the same problem with Tom Hanks, Angelina Jolie, Tom Cruise and Julia Roberts.  They (to me, YMMV) don’t inhabit the roles or disappear into them, and it’s distracting from the rest of the characters and the plot of the movie.  Stayed til the very end, loved the extra.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Read or seen

Leave a Reply

