Eh, the RITAs

The RITA nominees have been announced.  On one hand, congratulations to all the nominees; it’s a professional honor and may give your sales a bump.  On the other hand, eh.  As usual, I’ve read very few of the nominees.

The ones I’ve read:

  • The Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne (historical romance)
  • The Many Sins of Lord Cameron by Jennifer Ashley (historical romance)
  • When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James (Regency historical romance)
  • The Dark Enquiry by Deanna Raybourn (novel w/ strong romantic elements)
  • New York to Dallas by J.D. Robb (romantic suspense)

One of those was a wallbanging DNF and another verged on it, two others were forgettable, and the last was a good enough installment in the series but not outstanding or a sterling example to use to get a reader hooked on the series (IMO, of course).

In addition to the books I’ve read, I’ve got a few TBR:

  • The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley (novel w/ strong romantic elements)
  • Nightfall by Ellen Connor (paranormal)
  • Doukakis’s Apprentice by Sarah Morgan (contemporary series)

I should bump them up, shouldn’t I?

Seeing the listing, I’m reminded that RWA is in Anaheim this year.  I’d love to go but my vacation budget is tapped out:  Barcelona, Indian Wells, Houston, the beach (Rehoboth and Nags Head), and a couple of days at the US Open in August, plus Thanksgiving travel?  Yeah, I don’t need to go to Anaheim in July.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book related

Leave a Reply

