A gathering of links

Check out Jon Wertheim at SI on the incestuous nature of sports agents, commentators, and players, and how tennis doesn’t seem to pay as much attention to optics as other sports might.  As I watched the Federer-Nadal match and ESPN kept panning to Mary Jo Fernandez sitting in the player’s box next to Federer’s wife, I wondered how anyone could take her commentary on Nadal (or any other Federer opponent) seriously, and apparently I’m not the only one who questioned it.

And read Ben Rothenberg’s NYT piece on Larry Ellison and what he’s done and wants to do at Indian Wells.  While I do question how the additional purse is distributed, there’s no denying that the BNP Paribas Open is a tennis destination and a crowd-pleaser.

The DABWAHA has resumed.  Go vote!

The Cutty Sark has reopened.  On my list of things to see/visit next time I’m in London.

The Economist evaluates Hillary Clinton’s tenure as Secretary of State and speculates about her future.  I find it odd that she is characterized as being “not a lawyer” but a politician.  Did the writer forget what she did for a living prior to moving into the White House?

The cherry blossoms are in full bloom.  Or so I’ve been told — I’m embarrassed to admit that I haven’t gone to see them in years.  Maybe next weekend?  If  you’re in DC, have you braved the crowds?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

