February in reading

Didn’t get much reading done in February.  Well, no, I take that back; I managed to read the pile of work-related magazines and articles, and it was just the pleasure-reading that was a little light.

1.  Enduring Light by Carla Kelly.  Inspirational fiction, American western.  B.  I thought I’d written a review of this book but I can’t find it on my computer anywhere or in any of my notebooks, so perhaps my imagination is being overactive.  My notes at LibraryThing read:  Beautifully written. A little bored by the Mary Sue heroine. Kelly has a lighter hand than most when it comes to the inspirational parts but I was still a little alienated by the religion and God’s will, etc. Suspense/villain part was a little ridiculous, especially at the end. Author bio was condescending and a little off-putting to me as a romance reader and part of the community upon whom the author her readership/platform before the transition to an LDS publisher.

2.  Latakia by JF Smith.  M/m adventure and bromance.  C.  Brief write-up here.

3.  A Lady Awakened by Cecilia Grant.  European historical.  Meh.

4.  Andalus by Jason Webster.  General fiction.

5.  Primal Man by Marguerite Turnley.  Australian-set contemporary.  DNF.

The last three were all mentioned here.

6.  Celebrity in Death by JD Robb.  Romantic suspense mixed with police procedural.  B+.

7.  I Just Play One on TV by A.L. Turner.  M/m contemporary.  DNF.

8.  First Impressions by Josephine Myles.  Contemporary m/m novella.  B/B-.  Sweet and very short story with quirky/different characters.

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “February in reading

  1. Somehow I missed or didn’t register your Latakia review last month. You and I have the same low tolerance for flabby writing, so I’m not going near it (enough good gay fiction/romance to read ATM). But I think we are outliers on this. I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for the book, as well as for other books that I think suffer from the same problems. Oh well.

    I got all the way through the AL Turner but found it very fanfictionish in its writing style and thinness of plot. What made you give it up?

    • I gave up on the Al Turner for a couple of reasons. It read like J2 fan fiction and lacked external plot or tension. And I found Vince to be painfully dense and willfully obtuse about Alex’s opposition to coming out and the reality of gay actors being boxed in or typecast by Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

