I put you in that box, you’d better stay there

A few things have me pondering the boxes into which we fans and media consumers put (force?) artists with our expectations.

The BioChemist sent me this link last night, and reading it made me sad.  I wanted to hug PStump and tell him to ignore miserable people…but that is probably hard to do when people are actively searching you out to tell you they don’t like your new projects.  As someone who was extremely late to Fall Out Boy’s music, I like Folie a Deux better than a lot of listeners in part because it’s what I heard first.  His solo EP and album are both good, too, if very different from FOB. “Run Dry (x Hearts x Fingers)” and “Spotlight” are my particular favorites.

Going through my Google Reader backlog (1,000+ without a specific count? I don’t like that, Google, I want the count to remain specific), I found a bit on Stark Sands being cast as a young soldier in the new Coen brothers’ film.  Does he ever get tired of being cast as a soldier?  It’s work, and I’m sure actors always appreciate being employed and an opportunity to work with the Coens but that’s the third or fourth time, I think, between film and Broadway.

I saw “Wit” on Broadway over the weekend; Cynthia Nixon stars as Dr. Vivian Bearing, a terminal cancer patient narrating the end of her life.  How are we today is how the play opens and closes.  I was only familiar with Nixon as a member of the cast of Sex and the City; the few episodes I’ve seen left me less than impressed and made me feel ambivalent about seeing Wit on stage.  But I loved the HBO movie version with Emma Thompson and really wanted to see the revival, so…  Nixon was outstanding, and it would have been a shame to miss that performance based on my own prejudices about another role she’d played, and the box I’d put her acting career in.  The Q&A after the show was interesting, too.

Also saw “Venus in Fur”, which left me feeling a little ambivalent.  Nina Arianda (good physical comedy and voice/accent) and Hugh Dancy (English & American accents, great chemistry w/ Arianda) were excellent, but 1) the theater was freezing, which was distracting, and 2) I’m not sure what the play was about other than the obvious gender and dominant/submissive explorations. Who is Vanda really?  And now I’m going to want to read Venus in Furs, the book upon which the fictional play within the play is based.

Leave a comment

February 29, 2012 · 9:33 pm

Leave a Reply

