The new year’s start to reading

1. Luring a Lady by Nora Roberts.  Category.  This is, as best I can tell, the first NR romance I ever read, back when it was originally published in 1991.  It has aged fairly well, too, and doesn’t seem terrifically dated.  It is available as an ebook now and was on sale in late December, which is what prompted the re-read.  B+

2.  Lord Samhain’s Night by Jo Beverley.  Historical novella, holiday themed.  This is another electronic reissue of an older work.  Let’s just say that it was not Beverley’s best work and leave it at that.  C-

3.  Winter Knights by Harper Fox.  Contemporary m/m novella with a holiday theme.  Less angsty than the other Fox works I’ve read.  Not thrilled with the paranormal aspect, but otherwise pleased. B-

4.  My True Love Gave to Me by Ava March.  Historical m/m novella.  DNF

5.  Duck! by Kim Dare.  AU/UF m/m with D/s.  What an alphabet soup!  Bought a copy after it was reviewed by SarahF at Dear Author.  I enjoyed the characters’  interaction and appreciated the way the D/s relationship was articulated explicitly and implicitly between Ori and Raynard. The copy editing was not particularly good, and there was egregious overuse of character tags. World building was pretty weak, too.   B/B-

6.  Hidden by Kelley Armstrong.  Urban fantasy with a holiday theme.  This felt like an adieu to Elena and Clay as main characters or protagonists to me.  B+/A-.

7.  Song of Love by Rachel Elliot.  Very dated category. Posted about this book here.  F

8.  His Marriage Ultimatum by Helen Brooks.  Category.  Mentioned here.

9.  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  YA.  Loved this book, mentioned in here. A-

10.  The Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne.  Historical adventure.  Eh.  Beautifully written, but I never felt engaged by the plot or the characters, as I mentioned earlier.  B-/C+.

11.  The Bro-Magnet by Lauren Baratz-Logsted.  Lad lit?  Jane at Dear Author sold a LOT of copies of this book.  And it was worth the price, even though I agreed with the general opinion of all the women in the book that Johnny was pretty much a douche.  (Sorry, the backward cap makes him one by default, at least for me and most of the women I know. Why?  Why do men do that?)  I really enjoyed his changing (yet staying the same) and found the writing to be quite funny.  But the very end of the book killed it for me.  B-/C+

12.  The Island by Lisa Henry.  M/m contemporary, adventure.  Need to re-read this.  Didn’t really work for me as genre romance; it relies on some romance tropes but ignores others.

13.  A Touch of the Devil by Anne Weale.  Dated category, mentioned here.  C

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “The new year’s start to reading

  1. I wondered how to categorise Bro-Magnet as well. It reads nothing like the few lad lit books I’ve read, though. I think I’d actually say chick lit, only with a male protagonist!

    I really liked it, by the way. Johnny was a bit clueless, but his heart was in the right place, I thought. What was it about the ending that ruined it for you?

    • His best man’s speech. I understand the author was circling back and closing a narrative loop, but his speech was all about himself rather than the couple who just married. I’ve been to a couple of weddings with BM speeches like that; while the couples were tactful, it was pretty clear that no one (couple or guests) appreciated the BM making his speech about himself rather than the couple.

Leave a comment