More ideas for the book club, but historical this time

It wasn’t solicited, but here’s my opinion on possible selections for the book club if they want a historical.  (Apparently they want sex but not gay sex.  But they don’t want to select it themselves?  I dunno.)

M/m: Alex Beecroft’s False Colors. Very little sex on the page. Age of Sail.

Lots of readers love Loretta Chase, especially Lord of Scoundrels, which I found to be average.

Newish authors who are well-reviewed:
Meredith Duran
Sherry Thomas
Courtney Milan
Joanna Bourne
Carrie Lofty (very different settings, which I like)

Jo Beverley (her Rogues series)

Almost anything by Roberta Gellis, especially her Magdalene la Batarde series, which is OOP.

Deanna Raybourn’s Silent in the Grave was good, although the series eventually petered our for me.

PB Ryan has a good Gilded Age mystery series with a romance thread.

Almost anything by Carla Kelly, whose old trads are being reissued. Her anthology of American western shorts, Here’s to the Ladies, is EXCELLENT.

For humorous fluff: Julia Quinn’s early Bridgerton books, especially The Viscount Who Loved Me. (There’s a croquet game that involves The Black Mallet of Death.)

Some of Susan Johnson’s old historicals (w/ footnotes) are good but OOP.

A lot of people love Diana Gabaldon’s  Outlander (but not me — it was okay, not a keeper, not worth reading the following books).

Lisa Kleypas’ Dreaming of You and The Devil in Winter (I liked the first, thought the second was okay)
Patricia Gaffney’s To Have and To Hold (very controversial book)
Laura Kinsale’s Flowers from the Storm (haven’t read it but a lot of readers LOVE this book) or For My Lady’s Heart
Mary Balogh’s A Summer to Remember (my favorite of hers)
Jude Deveraux A Knight in Shining Armor (hotly debated b/c of ending, time travel rom)
Mary Jo Putney’s Shattered Rainbows or Thunder & Roses
Lavyrle Spencer’s Morning Glory (WWII set, not my favorite, I prefer her Hummingbird or The Gamble)
Connie Brockway’s As You Desire and All Through the Night
Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation series (I liked first book, loved the second book, but wouldn’t be willing to pay for any of the following books.)
Not strictly genre romance:  Anthony Capella’s The Wedding Officer  (Italy, WWII)

Or my favorite book of all time, Persuasion.

Once again, what am I missing?

5 Comments

Filed under Book related

5 responses to “More ideas for the book club, but historical this time

  1. I like some Mary Balogh and old Edith Laytons. How about Heyer?

    • Heyer was mentioned but not received enthusiastically. The group really wanted a contemporary. With sex. (I misunderstood at first and thought they wanted not-much-sex.) So glad the decision making wasn’t mine.

  2. I’d go for K.A. Mitchell–and she has a new one out soon.

Leave a Reply

