October in books

1.  Long Tall Drink by L.C. Chase.  Contemporary, American western m/m.  Was expecting something meatier based on the blurb. Other characters just sort of brushed over narrator’s fears about being out in a conservative community (oh, it was 20 years ago). Mother figure who was trying to set him up with women for years, nagging about marriage and kids, suddenly sees and is okay with him being gay and with gay marriage? Ranch and horses did not feel particularly integral or important to the plot. Very little external plot. C at best.

2.  Rafa by Rafael Nadal with John Carlin.  Autobiography, discussed here.

3.  The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  Nonfiction, discussed here.

4.  Something Different by S.A. Reid.  Contemporary m/m.  This was a quick, enjoyable read, but when I stopped to think about some of the content my enjoyment faded.  Trite treatment of wife, telltelltell, flat epilogue, Americanisms from the mouth of Briton w/o context.  Add in general discomfort w/ prostitute heroes (One True Love as savior *really* bothers me because it fails to address so many things that underlie prostitution as a career choice) and this is probably not a keeper or a book I’ll re-read.  Am not sorry to have bought or read it though.

5.  The S Before Ex by Mina Kelly.  Harlequin Presents.  American set HP, reunion story. Liked the idea of it but was not thrilled with the asexual heroine for nine years.

6-11.  The PsyCop Series by Jordan Castillo Price.  Urban fantasy/horror, gay fiction.  Discussed here.

12.  Wishink Well by Jordan Castillo Price.  Sort of m/m?  This sort perplexed me, in part because I couldn’t figure out what it was supposed to be, and by the time I saw the end in sight I was seriously disturbed.  DNF.

13.  Just Desserts by Josh Lanyon.  Petit Morts m/m novella.  Meh.  The storytelling was severely constrained by format and length IMO, and the lack of space meant the relationship (such as it was) was half-baked and the change of heart had no foundation.  C maybe.

14.  The Big Short:  Inside the Doomsday Machine by Michael Lewis.  Nonfiction on the financial collapse of 2008, discussed here.

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “October in books

  1. Sorry Wishink Well didn’t work for you; I should probably have noted that there is a potentially major squick factor in it.

    I’ve read Just Desserts once quickly. Not sure what I think. Not a likeable MC, and I’m not sure the opposites attract thing really works here. But I need to read it again.

    Long Tall Drink sounds like another one of those “everything is beautiful” contemps we’ve had trouble with before.

    • Wishink Well could have worked for me if I’d had different expectations. All of the other Petit Morts I’ve read had a HFN of some sort, so I was expecting something…miraculous, I suppose? Just Desserts merits a re-read — it may grow on me, but right now my impression is that the MC is just *so* angry and unhappy that the courtship and his abrupt change of heart weren’t convincing to me.

      Re Long Tall Drink, yes. The set up was that the narrator was closeted because of an episode in his youth in which gay ranchers were bankrupted and threatened and driven out of the community. Was he paranoid? Or had the community changed in the intervening 20 years? Not really clear.

Leave a Reply

