SBD: beach reading

I did manage to read a few other things in addition to Bear, Otter and the Kid before skedaddling home ahead of Hurricane Irene.  Here’s the run-down for SBD:

1.  Persuasion.  Because I can pick this book up and read it at any time at all, from beginning to end or just a passage here and there.  Also re-watched the BBC adaptation (the Hinds-Root edition, thanks).  While there are things I could quibble about in the adaptation, they are far outweighed by the performances and the way so many passages and bits of dialog are worked into the script.

2.  Georgette Heyer’s Regency World by Jennifer Kloester.  This is probably a good reference book or resource for readers who are interested in learning the background of the Regency period but have no foundation.  I’ve read a fair bit within the genre and also of non-fiction about that period in history, so there was not anything new here.  If anyone wants my copy, drop me a line and I’ll send it your way.

3.  The Keepsake by Tess Gerritsen.  I’d never read a Rizzoli & Isles mystery before.  This one was pretty good as a procedural, and I enjoyed the Egyptology and archaeology background.  Felt vaguely squicked by Isles’ personal life; it read like another example of a professional woman making bad romantic choices, as if she can’t be balanced and successful in both.

4.  The Dead Travel Fast by Deanna Raybourn.  A Victorian, Transylvanian-set gothic, meta-fiction of sorts with the narrator being an author who writes gothic romances of her own.  Very atmospheric, but spoiled by an abrupt ending full of telling rather than showing.

I bought two Heyer books when they were on sale with a plan to read them after reading the nonfiction about her Regency world…but that didn’t happen.  Wasn’t in a Regency mood.  Maybe later this month.

 

3 Comments

Filed under books

3 responses to “SBD: beach reading

  1. What were your thoughts on The Redeemer? Were you going to review it? Did you hate it or what? I’m curious!

  2. Just realized that I forgot to include The Redeemer in my book summary for last month. I enjoyed it, meant to review it then got busy doing other things. Maybe over the long weekend I’ll do a quick re-read and write a short review. Nesbo did a really good job of weaving all the different threads together — I didn’t see the end coming and was very surprised.

  3. You had me worried….looking forward to the review. I am really enjoying Arne Dahl’s debut, Misterioso. Plan to review it next week.

Leave a Reply

