Hats and handbags

Several years ago, I was outside all day at a street festival and needed a hat. I never have a hat when I need one. Of course, the reason is that I look like a complete dork in a hat. But still, sometimes one must have a hat, or suffer from sunstroke. The choices were limited, and I ended up spending $10 on this blue hat that I figured I would wear once and then misplace or forget.

But several years later, I still have the hat. It has accompanied me to California and Ireland and Spain, and to different beaches up and down the East Coast. The design is really simple — it’s a single piece of extremely sturdy ribbon, sewn (sown? no, sewn, I think) over itself, with the placement of the stitches determining the shape of the hat. It squashes down to almost nothing, making for easy carrying. It’s easily cleaned, just toss it in the washer and then let it air dry. The brim adjusts, which is useful depending on the angle of the sun.

Of course, I do occasionally forget even the Awesome Blue Ribbon Hat, and end up buying the cheapest hat available. Which is how I ended up with a Rafa Nadal/Nike baseball cap from the US Open last year, and a USOpen fishing-style cap the year before. Yes, I’m a don’t-forget-to-pack-a-hat failure. And I look like an even bigger dork in ball caps than I do in other hats.

While I was gift shopping a Barnes & Noble over the holidays, I also bought a gift for myself — it’s cheating, but I did it anyway: this little carrier-type bag made of recycled juice boxes. The colors were so bright and cheerful. I use it to carry my lunch to work, or as little handbag when I’m out running errands. Several people have stopped me and asked if I made it or where I got it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hats and handbags

  1. Anonymous

    My god, I’m a recovering bag/hat addict!
    People have shoes, it’s bags for me. All the way. My collection was so huge that it was not funny. I stopped owning expensive ones after the oldest played a game with my Birkin (a gift from my dad) as his ‘cat carrier’. The cat was pissed off enough to try claw its way out of the bag. Those scratches! An echo of my scream three years ago is probably still echoing somewhere in the galaxy today. Gave most bags to my sister and two sisters-in-law. *sob*
    I wear a hat every time I go out. I don’t think anyone has ever seen me out without a hat. Some friends wouldn’t leave their homes without make-up. It’s same for me with hats. I have to have a hat on my head when I’m in a street (I take it off when I’m inside a building for a meeting or like so). I have on idea why. It’s been like that since I was at uni. My security blanket? Who knows? 😀
    That bag does look seriously awesome. I didn’t realise B&N sells bags. We don’t have a B&N here so no chance of getting my mitts on that bag. Boooo!

Leave a Reply

