Good Hair

On Thursday, I stopped by a colleague’s office and admired her family photo:  her fraternal twins are going to be a year old soon.  They are a beautiful family, just so happy and *together*.  She was telling me that they are going to take her son to get his first hair cut soon: he has her hair, a total ‘fro, and that she’s introduced him to her hair product (Aveda).  And then she said that her daughter got lucky genetically and has her father’s hair, thick and straight.  

And when I got home, Chris Rock’s film "Good Hair" was waiting in my mailbox.  The timing was entirely accidental, the result of me bumping it up in my dvd rental queue after seeing a mention of it on twitter.  But the entire time I was watching Good Hair today, I was thinking of CH and her son who got her hair and her "lucky" daughter who got her husband’s "white" hair and won’t need to use relaxant or weaves or whatever else.

I had NO IDEA that at weave started at $1,000.  That is ridiculously expensive, especially since that it only for the hair, not even the maintenance or placement.  But, you know, I also think people who shoot botulin toxin into their faces are crazy.  So if you can afford it and it makes you feel good about how you look, then more power to you.

Aside:  there’s a job out there titled "Video Vixen"?  Seriously?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

