AAR Top 100 (71-100) – finished!

The 10×10 plan was too much.  Here are the last 30 and good riddance!

71.  A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux
Time travel published in 1989
Read it and loved it way back when; today, I would probably not consider this as strictly genre romance, since it breaks a big genre rule.  Romantic, yes, but not genre romance.  Am also a little surprised that this is the only Deveraux title in the top 100, because she was *huge* in the genre in the eighties and into the very early nineties (I think).

72.  Once and Always by Judith McNaught
European historical published in 1987
Probably read it in my McNaught glom, but I couldn’t tell you the plot to save my life.

73.  Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Contemporary published in 2007
DNF

74.  Sea Swept by Nora Roberts
Contemporary published in 1998
Oh, I do love this trilogy, but I like it best taken as a whole and separately I like the component parts less than the whole.  If I had to pick just one book of the series, it would be the second book rather than this first one.

75.  Seduce Me at Sunrise by Lisa Kleypas
European historical published in 2008
Another Kleypas I haven’t read.

76.  Dark Lover by JR Ward
Paranormal published in 2005
The beginning of the BDB!  Read it, loved it at the time.

77.   A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
Paranormal published in 2009
DNF

78.  More Than A Mistress by Mary Balogh
European historical published in 2000
Had forgotten about this one, did enjoy it a great deal.

79.  What Happens in London by Julia Quinn
European historical published in 2009
DNF

80.  Cry No More by Linda Howard
Romantic suspense published in 2003
The "romantic" adjective is debatable here; a lot of readers love this book (obvs), but I was bored by the plot and not engaged by the angst.

81.  Over the Edge by Suzanne Brockmann
Romantic suspense published in 2001
This one would be on my ballot.  Love Terri and Stan.

82.  Open Season by Linda Howard
Romantic suspense published in 2001
Trying too hard to be funny.

83.  The Shadow and the Star by Laura Kinsale
European historical published in 1991
TBR

84.  Saving Grace by Julie Garwood
Medieval published in 1993
Probably read it, can’t recall.

85.  Worth Any Price by Lisa Kleypas
European historical published in 2003
Yet another unread Kleypas.  Eh.

86.  My Dearest Enemy by Connie Brockway
European historical published in 1998
Haven’t read it.

87.  Ain’t She Sweet by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Contemporary published in 2004
Haven’t read it, not interested in trying it.

88.  Thunder and Roses by Mary Jo Putney
European historical published in 1993
This is part of her Fallen Angel series – I think that’s the name of it.  Enjoyed this book particularly, along with Shattered Rainbows.

89.  To Die For by Linda Howard
Romantic suspense published in 2005
Read it and enjoyed it when it was published, but the book did not wear well; its sequel was….unnecessary at best.

90.  All Through the Night by Connie Brockway
European historical published in 1997
Haven’t read it.

91.  The Rake by Mary Jo Putney
European historical published in 1998
Am curious about this one, since it was published twice: an original version and then an edited, reworked version.  Read it, didn’t love it.

92.  The Leopard Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt
European historical published in 2007
Read it.

93.  Voyager by Diana Gabaldon
Time Travel published in 1994
Have not read it, not interested in reading the Continuing Travails of Claire the Mary-Sue and Jamie the Stud.

94.  The Duke of Shadows by Meredith Duran
European historical published in 2008
Loved the first half of this book, but the second half felt like it was written by a completely different author.

95.  Untie My Heart by Judith Ivory
European historical written in 2002
Haven’t read it.

96.  Bound by Your Touch by Meredith Duran
European historical published in 2009
TBR

97.  Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh
Paranormal published in 2009
Have read it, I think.

98.  Married by Morning by Lisa Kleypas
European historical published in 2010
How many Kleypas books are on this list?

99.  And Then He Kissed Her by Laura Lee Guhrke
European historical published in 2007
Have read at least one book by this author, but am not sure which one.

100.  Scandal in Spring by Lisa Kleypas
European historical published in 2010
JFC!  Another one?  How big is this woman’s backlist?

Okay, so of the last 30 books on the list, I’ve read seventeen.  Of those seventeen, only three would be keepers for me.  

Once again, European historicals rule, as does Lisa Kleypas.  Fifteen of the top 100 books belong to Kleypas, which seems odd to me.  Yes, she’s a popular author with a large backlist, but there are bigger authors out there.  Maybe her dominance is just representative of the average, Avonized taste of AAR voters?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “AAR Top 100 (71-100) – finished!

  1. Anonymous

    I keep trying to post but it won’t let me. So I’ll just make this a testing, testing post, but I do wonder what stopped you in Natural Born Charmers. That as my first SEP and I recall loving it.
    (Also I loved Untie My Heart, Dearest Enemy and Shadow and Star.)
    Kate R

    • The writing of NBC was fine, but I had problems with the characters and plot. Dean as established in the earlier book (Match Me If You Can) was intriguing, but he didn’t live up to it in his own book; I found Blue to be slightly more sympathetic but a little too martyrish; the parents really stomped on a tender spot for me.
      The other three I haven’t read yet. I may get to them sooner or later.

  2. Anonymous

    OMFG …. IT WORKED.

  3. Was there only ONE Kinsale book on this top 100? Was my skimming inadequate and I missed all her other titles because if Kleypas gets that many then ALL of Kinsale’s should be on there. Speaking of… saw that you have Shadow and the Star TBR. I love love love it. It’s in the rotating top. I can never pick my fave of hers but of the three that are always vying for that spot Shadow and the Star is one. (Kate also said I needed to pass along that I give it 5/5 stars. 🙂
    I was checking out your top 30 and Persuasion is my fave Austen, too. I’m always defending it against P&P (of course!) but I just adore it. I admit that the dialogue has more zing in P&P but Persuasion is just makes the heart ache beautiful.
    And I’m always trying to get people to read Almost Like Being in Love. What a fun book with a great format. Recently read Holly’s Inbox (strictly email format) and the whole time I was thinking I should just be reading Almost Like Being in Love again.
    Anyway, enjoyed the list and comments and your list. 🙂

    • I think Flowers from the Storm was on the list, too. But yes, it seems like Kinsale ought to be better represented on the list.
      P&P is very good, and I enjoy it, but it doesn’t thrill me when I read it the way Persuasion does.
      Holly’s Inbox? I don’t recognize that title. Would you recommend it?

      • Holly’s Inbox is written by a UK author under pen name Holly Denham. As for recommending it… not sure. It’s one of those frustrating books that I didn’t dislike but that I have no idea who to recommend it to. Not sure if that makes sense. I enjoyed the format but the characters could have been developed better. I realize that’s a bit difficult via email but some were done so well and some were just taking up space making the book too long. The romance part of it was too rushed (and yet I feel I know way more than I ever cared to about Holly’s brother) and I feel it was heavily inspired by Bridget Jones’ Diary. If you come by a copy* then I say give it a try but it’s not one to seek out.
        *someday it might start raining books…

Leave a Reply

