SBD: more of AAR’s top 100 list

Am reading Richard III again and have nothing on that front to SBD about.  But the next installment of AAR’s poll (31-40) counts, right?

31.  Mackenzie’s Mountain by Linda Howard
Series/category published in 1989
Read it way back when and loved it then.  Now, not so much.

32.  A Summer to Remember by Mary Balogh
European historical published in 2002
Very much enjoyed this book; definitely would be on my list.

33.  When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn
European historical published in 2004
DNF

34.  Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas
Contemporary fiction published in 2009
Failed the 50 page test.

35.  Persuasion by Jane Austen
Classic literature published in 1818.
Number 1 on my ballot.

36.  Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Crusie
Contemporary published in 2000
Also on my ballot.  

37.  Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Classic literature published in 1847
Read it; loved it as a teenager.  Still appreciate it, but don’t love it as much as other classics.

38.  Whitney, My Love by Judith McNaught
European historical published in 1985
OMGWTFBBQ — hate Clayton.  Want him to die in a fictional fire.

39.  Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood
Medieval published in 1987
Probably read it in my Garwood glom back in the day.

40.  This Heart of Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Contemporary published 2001
The beginning of the end for SEP for me.  Have a serious problem with the non-consensual sex in this book.  Having the instigator be the heroine doesn’t make it okay.

Three out of ten is a little better than earlier installments of this list for me.  Still disconcerted by the European historical emphasis and the Kleypas, Quinn and SEP love.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “SBD: more of AAR’s top 100 list

  1. This is where my memory fails me every time – I have no clue about Whitney My Love but I’m sure I read it. For me, Shannon Drake from the late 80’s had heroes I wanted to die grisly deaths by the hands of the heroines.
    Cindys

  2. http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/d/shannon-drake/
    Okay, she’s Heather Graham which explains a lot to me. The ones I read were historicals and these were true bodice ripper books. One (and the Ondine cover looks familiar) had the heroine chained to a bed for most of the story while the so-called hero ‘loved’ her. Uh, yeah, rape. I wanted the heroine of that book to kill him and meet some cute guy somewhere else. Ugh.
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

