September in books

1.  Just One Taste by Louisa Edwards.  Contemporary, third book in her Recipe for Love series.  Generally enjoyable; appreciated the kitchen and cooking scenes, the community of people who love food.  The heroine was a little remote, since she’s absent for much of the book.  The hero…was not my favorite character.  Loved the secondary story line, which has been ongoing since the first book of the series.  B.

2.  Blinded by Our Eyes by Clare London.  Gay mystery/suspense.  Meh.  Spent the entire book thinking the narrator was behaving illogically, and the big reveal at the end confirmed this opinion.  C.

3.  Pleasure of a Dark Prince by Kresley Cole.  Paranormal romance.  DNF, written about here.

4.  Such a Pretty Face by Cathy Lamb.  Women’s fiction or general fiction.  B, written about here.

5.  The Bellini Bride by Michelle Reid.  HP, category.  Written about here.

6.  A Vintage Affair by Josh Lanyon.  Gay romantic suspense.  B-.  Written about here.

7.  Killbox by Ann Aguirre.  Science fiction, ongoing series with Sirantha Jax as narrator and protagonist.  This series works so much better for me when I ignore the romance thread between Jax and March.  Find Vel to be the much more intriguing character.  Ended on a cliffhanger, but I’m in no rush to read the next book.  B

8.  Match Maker by Alan Chin.  I’ve been trying to write a review about this book for more than a week.  I’ve got a lot to say about it, but haven’t managed to get it online yet.

9.  Sonoran Heat by Katrina Strauss.  Gay romance.  May-December romance.  Sweet but forgettable.  C+/B-.

10.  Demon Forged by Meljean Brook.  Paranormal romance, part of the ongoing Guardians series.  B+, written about here.

11.  I Fell in Love with a Zombie by Sean Kennedy.  Urban fantasy.  B-, written about here.

12.  Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews.  Fantasy romance.  B+
Numbers were up for the month, mostly books I enjoyed although none of the books I read were necessarily keepers in the traditional sense.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “September in books

  1. I just bought the first Louisa Edwards to try. I figured a cooking-based contemporary should be good, and I miss straightforward contemporaries.

    • I have really enjoyed the series, especially the kitchen/restaurant parts. Edwards’ heroes tend to appeal to me more than her heroines.
      I have the third book in paper. If you’d like it, I’ll drop it in the mail.

Leave a Reply

