July in books

Once again, declining reading for me.  Other stuff to do.

Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips.  Contemporary.  Written about here.

Holding the Dream by Nora Roberts.  Re-read, contemporary.  This is my favorite book of this trilogy, it’s the second book of it.  The hero is a sort of proto-Roarke, a mix of alpha and beta, and the heroine is an accountant.  Seriously, how many accountant heroines are there out there in Romanceland?

The Dark Farewell by Josh Lanyon.  Historical set in 1920s America, mystery with thin gay romance thread.  Good red herring, extremely abrupt ending.  This was an okay book, but Lanyon’s Adrien English series set a pretty high bar for this author, and nothing else has measured up for me as a reader.

The Search by Nora Roberts.  Contemporary romantic suspense.  As I mentioned here, my favorite NR single title in several years.

Unintended by M.J. O’Shea.  Contemporary gay YA.  Terrible ebook formatting with wonky fonts and typos.  Content-wise…it felt kind of elementary and unpolished, but was a sweet tale.

Tongues of Serpents by Naomi Novik.  Fantasy, alternate reality…with dragons.  Beginning and end were interesting, while the middle of the book dragged tediously; some serious editing would’ve helped.

Dark and Stormy Knights urban fantasy anthology — only read the Ilona Andrews novella.  B+.

Stirring Up Trouble by Z.A. Maxfield.  Contemporary gay romance.  Vaguely remember this as being a pleasant read, but nothing about it stands out.  In fact, I’d already forgotten it until I skimmed my LlibraryThing list for the month.

Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler.  Urban fantasy, debut.  Post coming tomorrow about this new to me series.

Tracking the Tempest by Nicole Peeler.  Urban fantasy, second book of the series (trilogy?). 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “July in books

  1. Isn’t there a Butcher story in Knights?

    • Yes, I think there is a Butcher story. But I’ve never made it past the first Harry Dresden book, so I wasn’t sure if I should read it or not.

      • Probably shouldn’t if you haven’t read the other Harry books. Why haven’t you, btw? Just couldn’t get into them, or just haven’t gotten around to them yet?

      • Just haven’t circled back to them. I have a couple on the TBR pile, and I’ll get back to them eventually.

Leave a Reply

