He’s supposed to be smart?

Okay, the basic set up of this book fails. Hero, the best man/man of honor for bride does not get along with bride’s brother. Hate. Refusal to be in the same room. For years. But bride reassures him that brother (rancher still living/working in her hometown) won’t be at her wedding…which is being held in her hometown. So he’s okay with spending a long weekend there, because his nemesis won’t be there.

Hero is painted as being smart and good with people, but it doesn’t occur to him that BFF’s brother not being at her wedding is, well, weird? That it’s a little odd for otherwise close family to be out of town or otherwise unavailable or absent from big family celebrations? Especially since the wedding wasn’t a spur of the moment thing?

The whole set up feels kind of forced, petty, and juvenile. Why waste energy on lies or bitching? It’s her wedding, suck it up and be pleasant for a weekend.

There’d be no book then, I guess. Eh. Deleting that sample from my reader. Next!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “He’s supposed to be smart?

  1. Wait, I read this one. If I could remember the title, I could check my LibraryThing to see what I thought of it. đŸ™‚

  2. Look! I joined this backwater of a community. I wanted to spread the word about contest by chris smith and then realized the contest was limited only to a yahoo group.SpeakItsName@yahoogroups.com
    Yet I have high hopes for good results and people can join the group, after all.
    And what was the title of the book you deleted? I want to see if it hits my TSTR (Too stupid to read) radar.
    OKAY….Here’s THE CONTEST
    To write a limerick which includes at least three of the following words:
    Cheese, Camels, Squid, Puppies, Peroni, Fra. Angelico, Unicorns, Jail.
    THE WINNER:
    Will be determined by the limerick that makes me laugh the most.
    THE PRIZES:
    WINNER: A copy of the LAST GASP anthology (in ebook format unless you want to hang about until it gets into print at some point in the future) and a choice of 3 items of stuff from my bag of swag!
    HONOURABLE MENTIONS: An item from the bag of swag.
    The BAG OF SWAG contains: “…Mmm… M/M” (graphic here: http://csmithatr.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/mmm_mm.gif) branded pens, mugs, a bag, a mouse mat, key rings, fridge magnets and post cards.
    ENTRIES: To be emailed to me at author.chris.smith@googlemail.com until 20:00BST on the 22nd of May. I will post them on my livejournal c_smith_author.livejournal.com after close of play and announce a winner and the honourable mentions. If you’d not like me to attribute your limerick, please say.

  3. oh. oops. I see the title now. I have to go download a sample.

Leave a Reply

