Should of?

I don’t even know what "should of" means.  

Yet I see it written in texts and emails all the time.  Even worse, today I read it in a book.  After the second occurrence, I had to put the book down.  Arguably, that was just the literal spelling of the narrator’s pronunciation of "should’ve" in dialog, and I should have (hah! should have!) just let it go as an exercise in dialect.  But I could not.  Really, just could not.  DNF.

It makes my eyes and my brain hurt to read "should of".

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Should of?

  1. *head explodes*
    Oh, sorry about the mess.

  2. It was wrong that I didn’t know what the problem was until you pointed out, right? Oops.

Leave a Reply

