Books I’m looking forward to in 2010

The TBR is huge, but I still look forward to adding to it! Here are some of the books I’m looking forward to in 2010. March, April, June and July look to be exceptional months for reading at Chez JMC.

January

Two January releases actually arrived on my doorstep in December, so I’m no longer looking forward to them.  [Scoundrel’s Kiss by Carrie Lofty and Proof of Seduction by Courtney Milan] That leaves Seressia Glass’s urban fantasy novel, Shadow Blade, to anticipate later this month.  I’ve read a couple of her older contemporary romances, and this new release has gotten some good buzz online.

February

Lessons in Seduction by Charlie Cochrane 

Sixth in the series, the Cambridge Fellows take a high profile case, investigating the death of the king’s ex-mistress.  There’s no excerpt up yet, but the blurb is here.

I love the cover art for this series, btw.  The color tones and the consistency across books.  I believe the same artist has designed all six covers, but am too lazy to check the credits at the moment.

March

March is going to be a happy reading month for me, it seems!  Urban fantasy, YA adventure, gay romance and mystery.  Who could ask for anything more?

Roadkill by Rob Thurman
Cal & Niko are back! I sort of wondered if the series was over, since Thurman left the brothers in a semi-safe and comfortable place at the end of the last book, so I’m glad to be able to read more of their adventures.

The Dark Farewell by Josh Lanyon There’s an excerpt up at Samhain, but no cover art yet. 

No Souvenirs by KA Mitchell 3/9/10 No cover art or excerpt, but description is here

A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner 3/25/10
Sophos! Gen! Eddis! Attolia! At last!

Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs 3/30/10

April

Hell Fire by Ann Aguirre 
Book #2 of the Corine Solomon series

A Murderous Procession by Ariana Franklin 
Book #3 of the Adelia Aguilar medieval forensic mystery series.

Tales of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong
Collection of novellas; have read early versions of some of them, when they were originally posted on Armstrong’s website. Looking forward to reading polished versions, along with additional new material.

Am feeling ambivalent about the next BDB book, which is supposed to be John Matthew’s. Haven’t read Ward’s angel spin off series, and am basically over the series, but may read this one (borrow from library? not paying hard back prices) to wrap up my reading of the series.

May

Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews 
Ignore the boobs that are about to pop out of the push up bra and impede Kate’s swing; pretend there is no "sticker" on the bottom.  This book is going to be an adventure, I’m sure.

June

Marrying the Royal Marine by Carla Kelly 
There’s no information available on this book yet, other that the generic page at Amazon, not even on the Harlequin Historicals page at eharlequin.com. But I’m thrilled to read more by Carla Kelly, and am assuming this is the final installment of her naval trilogy. Is it too early to be wondering what Ms. Kelly will be writing next?

July

Demon Blood by Meljean Brook
More Guardians!  Probably I should read Demon Forged before this comes out.  Seven months, plenty of time…

Tongues of Serpents by Naomi Novik 
No cover art yet, but some info about the setting of the book here.

October

The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook
There’s no hard release date for this one yet, or cover art.  Am looking forward to Brooks’ steampunk debut.

November

CryoBurn by Lois McMaster Bujold
This is the long awaited new Miles Vorkosigan novel.  TBH, I had sort of assumed that the Miles series was over, since it had been so long since Diplomatic Immunity.  Thrilled to learn otherwise 🙂  There is no cover art or blurb yet that I could find, and the only mention of a release date is at LMB’s website, not Baen Books. 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Books I’m looking forward to in 2010

  1. I, too, have Seressia Glass’s Shadow Blade on pre-order. I’ve read two of Glass’s contemps and really enjoyed No Commitment Required. I’m excited to read an urban fantasy novel that features a multicultural cast.
    I also received Proof by Seduction last month. I didn’t fall in love with the hero/ine, but It was a good read. I’d give it a B.
    As for the rest of January/February, I have Patricia Brigg’s Bone Crossed (paperback), Matsuri Hino’s Vampire Knight, Vol. 9 (manga), and Nalini Singh’s Archangel’s Kiss on pre-order. I can’t wait to receive these books.

    • Is Archangel’s Kiss part of a new series for Singh? (Her Psy series didn’t work for me, wondering if I should try AK if it is set in a different world.)
      Thanks for the info re: Proof of Seduction. I’ve been stuck in the first couple of chapters, will keep on.

      • Yup, Archangel’s Kiss is the second book in a new series called the Guild Hunters. It’s set in a world where angels rule, vampires serve angels, and Guild Hunters hunt vampires who break their contracts to the angels. It’s more romantic urban fantasy than paranormal romance. Unlike the Psy/Changeling series, which follows one couple per book with a HEA at the end, this series is following the two main protagonists for a time. I find that while I like this series, I like the Psy/Changeling books more. But I’m a big fan of the Psy/Changeling books, and Singh’s writing in general, so I’m probably not a good judge of whether or not this series will appeal to you. Singh released a short prequel to the series called Angel’s Pawn. You can download the ebook for about $2-3. Maybe you could give that a try and see if the world interests you.

      • Thanks for the info about Angel’s Pawn. I enjoyed a couple of Singh’s older categories, so her writing has worked for me in the past. I’ll give this new series a try 🙂

  2. NEW CARLA KELLY EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This is the first I’d heard of it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

