Veteran’s Day

Today is Poppop’s Holiday.  He’s often in the back of my mind as I go about my daily life, but there are some days when he is more present: Memorial Day, his birthday, and Veteran’s Day.  For as long as I can remember, he was active in the VFW.  When he was in better health, he was a leader of his local chapter and he visited fellow veterans who were in poor health.  His service in the military left him ambivalent about the role of the military and the efficacy of war as a legitimate, viable solution to any political problem.  But he was never ambivalent about the people who were in the armed services.

Today I feel ambivalent about American militarism in general, and our ongoing "wars" in Iraq and Afghanistan in particular.  My doubts about the ultimate purpose of our "missions" abroad grow stronger as I do more research and talk to people who have served.

However I remain thankful to all of those people who served in the armed forces, past and present.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

