Con artist heroine?

I just realized that a book I pre-ordered based on author alone (an author whose voice I really like) has a heroine who is a con artist and a hero who is an assassin.  And the book begins with her as his target because of her relationship/tangling with a mobster.

I dunno.  I’ve posted already that I have a problem with criminal behavior from main characters.  In the past, okay.  Ongoing on the page, not so much.  I’m not sure if I want to read this book now, no matter how well-received and well-reviewed it has been.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Con artist heroine?

  1. Anonymous

    I think I just read a review or synopsis of this very same book and was like. A con? An assassin? Meh.
    Mollie
    http://goodreads.com/biblioharlot

    • An assassin or con might work in urban fantasy or regular fantasy. Or even one or the other in romance (although it’s a harder sell for me — a “hero(ine)” need not be heroic but being an outright criminal is problematic, regardless of reason). But both? Too much.
      Will wait and see how other reviews pan out. Maybe it’ll be a library book instead.

  2. Anonymous

    I’d read it. I love that stuff–although I’m getting tired of assassin heroes, which says a lot about the State of the Hero these days. Amazing how many there are out there.
    …which book are you talking about?
    Kate R

Leave a Reply

