Oh, the weight of a name

~ As I was wandering down memory lane last night, I was reminded of my first big crush in middle school.  He had spiky black hair, a scattering of freckles across his nose, and an amazing grin.  Joking and talking during Science Class used to get us both The Look from Mrs. Smith.  His name was Fabio.  Seriously.  This was before the romance model Fabio became famous.  So now the name carries a certain cheese factor that it didn’t originally have for me.  Right now I wonder what ever happened to him in a detached and nostalgic way, but not enough to try to google him to find out.  Some childhood things are best left as vague, pleasant memories.

~ Just checked airfare for Thanksgiving.  Holy price gouging, Batman!  $500-$650?!?  That’s INSANE.  And that fare isn’t even for flights on peak days (Wednesday and Sunday).  The usual price is $250 – $325, so I expect a bit of a mark up for the holiday, but not a 100% markup.

~  I’m about half way through Four Queens.  While I am enjoying the book, it really isn’t about the four women themselves; a great deal more time is spent on their parents, their uncles, and their in-laws…at least so far.  The vast majority of the attention devoted to the four sisters is speculative.  While I wouldn’t mind this if the book were fiction, it purports to be nonfiction.  And the lack of footnotes and/or end notes in the text is really distracting, because I want source information.

~ My self-imposed book-buying moratorium hurts.  I want new ebooks, and am addicted to the immediate gratification of ebooks.  It doesn’t matter how many books I have TBR in paper if they aren’t at hand when I need a new book to read.  Have made it almost one week, which doesn’t sound like much until you consider that I probably buy/bought 2 or 3 books per week.  Three more to go.  I can do it!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Oh, the weight of a name

  1. I almost bought Four Queens! Let me know how it ends up. Only two of them were really queens, right? I saw it at the getty centre in LA and almost got it but by then I had so many books so…

Leave a comment