September reading

What I read last month:

1.  Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Dystopian fantasy.  Very good, but suffering a little from sophomore seriesitis: parts seemed very repetitious of the first book.  End felt unfinished, even for a middle book of a series.  B

2.  "Magic Mourns" by Ilona Andrews in the Must Love Hellhounds anthology.  Loved it.  Impressed by how very different Andrea’s voice is in comparison to Kate’s.  Looking forward to Andrews’ new release, On the Edge.  A-

3.  Force of Nature by Suzanne Brockmann.  Reread.

4.  Grey’s Awakening by Cameron Dane.  Ebook, contemporary m/m.  The story might be good, but I couldn’t get past MC named Sirus.  Kept reading "Sirius" as in Sirius Black of Harry Potter.  DNF

5.  Packing the Heat by Penny McCall.  Romantic suspense.  DNF

6.  Hill Country Christmas by Laurie Kingery.  Historical, inspirational.  DNF

7.  Her One Desire by Kimberly Killion.  Medieval historical.  DNF

8.  Mistress of the Art of Death by Arianna Franklin.  Historical mystery.  Loved this book, can’t figure out what took me so long to read it.

9.  The Serpent’s Tale by Arianna Franklin.  Second of the series.

10.  Grave Goods by Arianna Franklin.  Third in the series.

11.  Demon Bound by Meljean Brook.  Paranormal romance.  I think this one may be my favorite of the Guardians series to date.  Looking forward to Demon Forged.

12.  Regularly Scheduled Life by K.A. Mitchell.  Contemporary m/m.  Enjoyed it, although it is angstier than her other books and stories.

13.  Serving Love by Annmarie McKenna et al.  Contemporary m/m, anthology.  Mentioned earlier here.  Loved one story ("Hot Ticket"), one was okay ("Serving Love"), one was DNF (can’t remember the title).  C.

14.  Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs.  Urban fantasy, reread.

15.  "Alpha & Omega" by Patricia Briggs.  Urban fantasy, novella, reread.

16.  Deadly Slumber by Victor Banis.  Gay mystery, contemporary.  I want to like this series, because I like the idea of it: a pulp-y, noire-ish contemporary mystery series.  But it doesn’t seem to be happening.  Specific to this book, the pacing was so slow and dull that I was bored.  The broader problem for me is one of the MC’s, Stanley.  Stanley comes across to me as being rather like Stephanie Plum: good intuition and with people, but he doesn’t seem to learn by his mistakes.  He is careless of his own safety, and endangers himself and those around him.  And his internal monologues, with the hairsplitting about accidental sex vs. premeditated sex, comes across to me as self-indulgent and self-excusing.  As I read Stanley’s distinction between the degree of cheating that sex in the backseat of a car vs. sex in a bed, my thoughts alternated between How very Clintonian, and Bitch, please: if you’re having sex, then own it, don’t try to pretend it isn’t sex because of some matter of degree.  DNF

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “September reading

  1. Hmm. I’m probably going to read the “Magic Mourns” story first in that anthology and then read the rest! 🙂 Reading ON THE EDGE right now and liking it.

    • That’s next on my TBR pile. Finished Aguirre’s Doubleblind feeling ambivalent. Just don’t care about the Jax/March relationship; want more political intrigue and less angst.

      • Gassspp. I loved the March & Jax relationship! Oh well. How about Vel? I was happy to see so much of him.
        I started reading Magic Mourns, but had to go to bed. I’m enjoying it quite a bit so far. There’s something about knowing that it’s short, not book length that I like. I can read it slowly or something.

      • I found Vel to be much more interesting than either Jax or March in Doubleblind, and kind of wished that Aguirre had spent more time on him. Seems like he must have lead an interesting life in the time since he left Ithiss-Tor, and his adventures would be fun to read.

Leave a Reply

